Excerpt from Cockeyed by Ryan Knighton, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cockeyed

A Memoir

by Ryan Knighton

Cockeyed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"So, it seems we have a bit of an oil leak out there."

I didn't look up from reading the cereal box. "Really?" I said. "Well, I guess the Acadian is getting old."

"How do you know I'm not talking about your mother's car?"

I chewed and pretended I could only hear my crispy cereal.

"Put your shoes on and we'll have a look together. You'll learn something." He paused for added effect and dried his hands on a tea towel. "Maybe I'll learn something, too."

My parents were a mighty talent at that sort of threat. They never directly chewed us out. First they tossed a line, one that told us something was coming, something swift, inevitable, and just. They'd let us feel the pressure in the room change and let us stew in the vacuum. Usually it was enough to pull the confessions loose.

I knew I was nailed, but I made it out of the kitchen without giving in to any wrongdoing. I hoped that my performance could outlive Dad's suspicions. We stood beside the car for a moment, then he motioned for me to have a look underneath. The street appeared to have dissolved into a pond of oil.

"Wow," I said. "How'd you notice that?"

"Funny thing, see the metal there under the door and all along the side?"

The bottom of the car no longer held a smooth line. It looked like the lip of a clam shell. "I noticed that first and

then the oil."

"Yeah, I guess it's kind of hard to miss."

"Uh huh."

Dad fixed his expression. As I spoke, he looked at me as if waiting for me to finish something I wanted to say.

"Guess that's quite a bit of work fixing a bad leak like that."

"Uh huh."

"Goddamn cars, eh? Always something to fix."

"Uh huh."

"Say, who do you think is the best mechanic in Langley?"

He didn't answer.

"The best besides you, I mean."

"You know, Ryan, it's a funny thing. The car wasn't like that yesterday. Today it leaks oil, and yesterday it didn't. Call me crazy, but I'm thinking last night something happened? You would be the last person in the car, too, so I'm thinking . . ."

I copped to it before he outright stated, in no uncertain terms, it was my fault. Better to admit it than to hear the blame. But the making of Stonehenge turned out to be a difficult phenomenon to describe.

"Rocks?" my father scowled. "Explain this to me again. Where did you find these rocks?"

"I didn't find them. They were just there."

His scowl deepened. "And how exactly did you get my car on top of them?"

Again I described how, in the dark, the patch of lawn had looked like the road I tried to leave by, and how the rocks weren't there, but then they were.

"Of course," he said. A big smile broke under his big moustache. "Of course it was the grass, the grass that looked like a road."

"Right."

"And it was the wall of rocks."

"Right."

"The ones you missed."

"Yes."

"But then found underneath the car."

He didn't believe a word of it.

At dinner that night, one of my younger brothers, Rory, asked if I could drive him somewhere. He probably didn't have anywhere pressing to be, really, being twelve, but the two of us liked to go out in Dad's car, buy junk food, and goof around. Rory was a nervous kid, a bit of a loner, and I liked taking him out with me. The first time I drove him somewhere, I asked if he wanted to shift the gears. He looked at me with disbelief, like I'd offered him my bank account.

From Cockeyed: A Memoir by Ryan Knighton, pages 22-35.  Copyright Ryan Knighton.  All rights reserved.  Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Public Affairs.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.