Excerpt from The Dreamwalker's Child by Steve Voake, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dreamwalker's Child

by Steve Voake

The Dreamwalker's Child
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


‘You know how important this is to the Emperor Odoursin?’

‘Oh yes,’ said the man hurriedly. ‘We’re close to a breakthrough. We’re doing everything we can to make this work.’

‘Well,’ said Hekken, turning his gaze away from the now lifeless, floating organisms to look at him, ‘you’re just going to have to do a bit more.’

He paused. ‘How is that lovely wife of yours by the way?’

‘She’s very well, thank you. I –’

‘And the children?’

There was fear in the man’s eyes now. He nodded and looked away. ‘They’re – they’re fine.’

‘Good. That’s very good.’

Hekken put his cap back on. ‘Well, you make sure you look after them. After all, it would be terrible if something happened to them. I’d never forgive myself.’

The man tried to speak, but his voice was shaking and he could only stutter something unintelligible.

‘I know, I know,’ said Hekken. ‘You’re quite right. As long as we all try our hardest, then everything will be just fine. Hmm?’

The man’s face was as white as his coat now. ‘Yes, General Hekken. We’ll have this fixed in no time. I promise.’

Hekken patted his cheek indulgently with a black leather glove. ‘That’s the spirit,’ he said. ‘Keep up the good work.’




Surrounded by the shiny green interior of the express lift, Hekken watched the red light flicker up through the floors and wondered what he was going to say to Odoursin.

Things were not looking good. Only yesterday the western state of Vahlzi had accused Vermia of planning to infect humans with a deadly virus. They were right, of course, but the accusation had been strenuously denied by Vermian officials. They were well aware that if the truth came out, Vahlzi would have an excuse to launch an attack against them. And although Vermia’s military had been strengthened considerably since the last war, they weren’t ready for another one just yet.

There was some good news, however. The Dream-walker from the prophecy had been sighted again last night and for the first time they had succeeded in tracking her back to Earth. If they moved quickly, they might just be able to turn things to their advantage.

But Hekken knew it wasn’t going to be easy.

The lift whined softly to a halt and the doors slid open to reveal a huge, circular room with a large, round table in the centre. A clinical white light shone from a steel disc overhead, but otherwise the room was in shadow. Outside, dark storm clouds rumbled and a howling wind threw torrents of rain against the windows of the tower.

Eleven members of the Council sat around the table, each staring intently at the tall, hooded figure in the centre. They turned at the sound of Hekken’s boots clacking across the hard stone floor and, as he approached, the figure slowly lifted its head. Cruel, red eyes stared out from a face that was hideously twisted, blanched and distorted like a piece of melted wax.

Hekken stood to attention and forced himself to hold Odoursin’s steely gaze.

‘General Hekken,’ said Odoursin in a low, menacing voice, ‘do you bring us good news?’

‘Yes, Your Excellency,’ Hekken replied, clicking his heels together and bowing slightly. ‘I am pleased to report that, generally speaking, the programme is progressing well. We have finally succeeded in isolating a deadly virus from a rare pitcher plant that grows on Earth, in the heart of the Amazon rainforest. It is a virus of such potency that, once released, it cannot be stopped. The problem of its delivery, however, still remains.’

‘Indeed,’ said Odoursin. ‘Please explain.’

Copyright (c) April 2006, Bloomsbury Press (USA). All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.