Excerpt from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

  • An accordionist
  • Some fanatical Germans
  • A Jewish fist fighter
  • And quite a lot of thievery

  • I saw the book thief three times.


    BESIDE THE RAILWAY LINE



    First up is something white. Of the blinding kind.

    Some of you are most likely thinking that white is not really a color and all of that tired sort of nonsense. Well, I'm here to tell you that it is. White is without question a color, and personally, I don't think you want to argue with me.

    ***A REASSURING ANNOUNCEMENT ***
    Please, be calm, despite that previous threat.
    I am all bluster--
    I am not violent.
    I am not malicious.
    I am a result.
    Yes, it was white.


    It felt as though the whole globe was dressed in snow. Like it had pulled it on, the way you pull on a sweater. Next to the train line, footprints were sunken to their shins. Trees wore blankets of ice.

    As you might expect, someone had died.


    They couldn't just leave him on the ground. For now, it wasn't such a problem, but very soon, the track ahead would be cleared and the train would need to move on.

    There were two guards.

    There was one mother and her daughter.

    One corpse.

    The mother, the girl, and the corpse remained stubborn and silent.

    "Well, what else do you want me to do?"

    The guards were tall and short. The tall one always spoke first, though he was not in charge. He looked at the smaller, rounder one. The one with the juicy red face.

    "Well," was the response, "we can't just leave them like this, can we?"

    The tall one was losing patience. "Why not?"

    And the smaller one damn near exploded. He looked up at the tall one's chin and cried, "Spinnst du! Are you stupid?!" The abhorrence on his cheeks was growing thicker by the moment. His skin widened. "Come on," he said, traipsing over the snow. "We'll carry all three of them back on if we have to. We'll notify the next stop."

    As for me, I had already made the most elementary of mistakes. I can't explain to you the severity of my self-disappointment. Originally, I'd done everything right:

    I studied the blinding, white-snow sky who stood at the window of the moving train. I practically inhaled it, but still, I wavered. I buckled--I became interested. In the girl. Curiosity got the better of me, and I resigned myself to stay as long as my schedule allowed, and I watched.

    Twenty-three minutes later, when the train was stopped, I climbed out with them.

    A small soul was in my arms.

    I stood a little to the right.

    The dynamic train guard duo made their way back to the mother, the girl, and the small male corpse. I clearly remember that my breath was loud that day. I'm surprised the guards didn't notice me as they walked by. The world was sagging now, under the weight of all that snow.

    Perhaps ten meters to my left, the pale, empty-stomached girl was standing, frost-stricken.

    Her mouth jittered.

    Her cold arms were folded.

    Tears were frozen to the book thief's face.

    • 1
    • 2

    Excerpted from The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak Copyright © 2006 by Markus Zusak. Excerpted by permission of Knopf Books for Young Readers, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    One-Month Free Membership

    Join Today!

    Editor's Choice

    • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
      A Gentleman in Moscow
      by Amor Towles
      It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
    • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
      I Contain Multitudes
      by Ed Yong
      If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
    • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
      Night of the Animals
      by Bill Broun
      Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

    First Impressions

    • Book Jacket

      The Tea Planter's Wife
      by Dinah Jefferies

      An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

      Read Member Reviews

    Book Discussions
    Book Jacket
    This Must Be the Place
    by Maggie O'Farrell

    An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

    About the book
    Join the discussion!
    Win this book!
    Win Blood at the Root

    Blood at the Root

    "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
    - PW Starred Review

    Enter

    Word Play

    Solve this clue:

    D C Y C Before T A H

    and be entered to win..

    Books that     
    entertain,
         engage

     & enlighten

    Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

    Join Today!

    Your guide toexceptional          books

    BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

     
    X

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
    Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



    Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.