Excerpt from Against Depression by Peter D. Kramer, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Against Depression

by Peter D. Kramer

Against Depression
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


As I focused on the discrepancies in value that attach to depression, I began to enjoy my situation more. Around me swirled an eddy of arguments and assumptions about depression. I was in an odd current, full of flotsam and jetsam. I began to save scraps that seemed evocative. I found myself trying to fashion a mental sculpture, a multidimensional collage, from shards that had floated into reach.

Perhaps one stray piece can serve as an example of the fragments I collected. I had finished my talk and was back in the audience at a regional conference on mood disorder. A psychoanalyst was next to present. He described his treatment of a middle-aged patient who had come for help with depression that had arisen out of the blue. The main features were leaden paralysis, obsessive self-doubt, and low self-regard. The analyst had the impression that for the whole of his life, the patient had been self-centered, blandly confident, and lacking in insight. So the doctor allowed the episode to continue. He hoped that the loss of confidence in particular would motivate the patient to engage in a psychotherapy that would make inroads against the narcissism.

I might once have considered this presentation unremarkable—an example of a psychoanalyst "optimizing" a patient's level of discomfort in the service of a process of self-exploration. But now—with my own patients' mood disorders so clearly in mind—I was seething. Is there another disease with which a doctor would make this choice? If a patient had cancer or diabetes and seemed psychologically the better for it—humbled, taken down a notch—still, we would treat the condition vigorously. Nor would a comparable argument, to let the syndrome be, arise in a discussion of other mental illnesses, such as anorexia or paranoia.

I found myself thinking about the particulars of depression in this patient, the one who turned to the psychoanalyst for help. What do we make of its unexplained appearance at midlife in a previously confident man? Perhaps the mood disorder resulted from a specific medical condition, outside the brain. Anemia can cause depression. If it did here, would the analyst tolerate a blood disorder, to provide the benefit of low self-worth? If the patient recovered spontaneously, might the doctor recommend therapeutic bloodletting? The thought was an angry one, I knew, but I was familiar enough with the brutality of depression to feel riled by the pride the speaker took in his choice, to let the patient flounder.

Causation aside—anemia or no anemia—the decision to leave depression untreated raises any number of ethical and practical concerns: Who will take responsibility for the harm depression does to the patient's marriage or career? Who will guarantee against suicide—since self-injury is always a risk when mood disorder drags on? And isn't it simply bad faith, when a person asks for help with an illness, to remain silent about potential treatments? The moral jeopardy (for the doctor) is only magnified when the hoped-for collateral benefit—alleviating a personality defect—concerns a problem that the patient might not acknowledge.

I took my disgust as a sign that I fully accepted depression as disease. How not, given the recent accumulation of evidence? Scientists were demonstrating that depression is associated with specific abnormalities in brain anatomy. Depression was being implicated as a risk factor for stroke and heart disease. And depression is its own risk factor; the longer you are depressed now, the more liable you are to chronic and recurring mood disorder, with its harm to brain and blood vessels and the rest. Surely depression had earned its status as disease in this particular sense: doctors ought not be content to let it persist.

Excerpted from Against Depressionby Peter Kramer. Copyright 2005 by Peter Kramer. Reproduced by permission of Penguin Publishing. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.