Excerpt from Isolation Ward by Joshua Spanogle, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Isolation Ward

by Joshua Spanogle

Isolation Ward
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 624 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"--care for these women."

"I'm not commenting on the in-house expertise," I began.

"Of course you are! You seem to think you're in some backwoods clinic. Surprise, surprise, we have seen our share of sick people, and they do get better."

"I wanted you to know there are resources available to--"

"Thanks for your input, Doctor. We'll take it under advisement." With that, she turned to the door. Before opening it, however, she turned back. "I'm calling a staff meeting, gentlemen, in ten minutes. Dr. McCormick, since you seem to have expertise we don't possess in-house, I'd like you to present your differential for these women."

"But I haven't even seen the--"

She was already out the door.

Another door opened as a nurse, dressed in her moon suit, exited one of the patient's rooms. She said hello to us, then disappeared into another room. A hospital, even an isolation ward, is a place of constant activity. Constant interruption, constant opening and closing of doors. Privacy for patients as well as for their caretakers is an alien concept.

After the nurse was gone, Hammil said, "How old are you, Dr. McCormick?"

"What? I'm thirty-three."

He nodded. "I guess that explains a lot. Grow up." He caught Verlach's eye, turned, and followed Jean Madison into the vestibule. The door closed with a hiss.




Chapter 3

Verlach and I were sharing a quiet moment, just the two of us in the hallway.

"I think she likes me, Herb."

Verlach said nothing. Even in the best of times, he didn't always know what to make of me.

"Yeah," I said, "you got it. I think she likes me in that way. It just comes across as pure, white-hot hatred."

"Well, things are a little tense here."

"Really? No."

Verlach regarded me through the respirator and face shield. "Gary Hammil I don't know. But I've known Jean Madison for years. She's a good doctor--damn good infectious disease doctor--good epidemiologist--"

"And she's still ticked that her surveillance program got slammed by Public Health. She's still annoyed they brought you and me in."

"That might be true."

"It is true. And this new guy, Hammil, says that I need to grow up? I'm an emotional Methuselah compared to her. Jesus."

"Okay, okay, you might be right, but try to see it from her side. She's been here for two decades. At this hospital. She's seen the assaults on its reputation, its finances, its medical staff. But it stays alive. To the point where the mere existence of this place irritates people. Everyone's on the sidelines waiting for a slipup."

"But dealing with this like it's a case of the sniffles is a slipup. Am I wrong here? Isn't hemorrhagic fever on the differential?"

"We don't know."

"Come on, purpuric rash? The bleeding? I haven't even seen these women and I'm thinking--"

Excerpted from Isolation Ward by Joshua Spanogle Copyright © 2006 by Joshua Spanogle. Excerpted by permission of Delacorte Press, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.