Excerpt from Edges by Leora Skolkin-Smith, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Edges

O Israel O Palestine

by Leora Skolkin-Smith

Edges
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Sep 2005, 176 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


She cupped her hands under one side of her face and fell asleep.

I tried to keep fully awake but soon images came with an invitation to rest in this half dream-state. My mother caressed me in the half-dream, she pulled me into her and protected me. I surrendered, partaking of her love and then in the mental movements that were darkness and fragment I was making love to myself, seeing and touching myself from the dreamer's place of seeing, my body had doubled and contained the shift, the ending of which drew out an orgasm like blood.

By seven p.m. New York time, the plane landed for its hour of refueling inside the gusty night of a mountain range, but its passenger cabin and its fill of sleeping travelers were quiet as a bevy of bones. The lights in the cabin were off, and all I could see outside my window was the gleam of Swiss airline fuel tanks and scaffolds.

My mother's eyes did not open and the plane ascended into the black air again.

I watched the swelling morning clouds over the continent, a dawn was coming carrying a light storm, heaving winds.We would be in Israel soon, I told myself, and there would be time for escape and remedy.

A few hours later, the airplane was jolted by turbulence in the air.

My mother sat up, startled. "Oh . . . what? What?" she said, blinking. She kicked at her red-tanned purse that had toppled out of the seat's pocket with the magazines and tissues she had tucked inside it.

"Nothing, Mom," I said, "you're all right. It's nothing at all."

She stared at me. And then she fell back into her sleep.

I sat, wide awake for a while longer, watching the airplane's escape hatch where other warning signs were pasted in white-and-black letters, instructions on how to bolt out in time and land on an inflatable float boat in the ocean, in case of sudden descent, or irreversible mechanical failure.

I stared out the plane window and into the great black hole in the galaxy where my father had fallen. The possibility of escape through death lived inside me as some odd and exciting adventure.

I listened to my mother's heavy breathing blend with the noise of the airplane's motor under my feet and I promised to the spaces unknown into which we were traveling, from one world to another, soon I would make a new life.

From Edges by Leora Skolkin-Smith. Copyright Leora Skolkin-Smith 2005. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of the author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.