Excerpt from The Vacation by Polly Horvath, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Vacation

by Polly Horvath

The Vacation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2005, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"OW!" said Aunt Pigg, as much in amazement as anything else.

"No more Coke for you, Pigg," said Aunt Magnolia, not wasting anyone's time by apologizing. "It's a long haul to the motel."

"Ow!" said Aunt Pigg again, making her way back to the car.

I carefully found the coin return slot, retrieved the dime, and pocketed it. As yet I had no plan to effect my egress, but one never knew.

"In fact," said Aunt Magnolia, suddenly turning around on her heel and marching back to the Coke machine, "let's get back that dime." When it wasn't there after she pushed the coin return button, she pushed it several more times increasingly harder. Then she hit the machine and kicked it. A man finally came out of the museum and said, "Here, stop that."

"This machine ate my dime," said Aunt Magnolia. "Machine clearly states Cokes cost a buck fifty," said the man. "You can't get a Coke for a dime no more, lady."

"Yes, I know that, you nincompoop," said Aunt Magnolia. "I put a dime in and I changed my mind."

"How do I know that?" said the man. "How do I know you're not out there just trying to cadge dimes off museum owners? You wouldn't believe what we see in the tourist trade."

"I want my dime," said Aunt Magnolia. The man just turned around and went back into the museum. I felt like applauding. If he had given the dime to Aunt Magnolia, I would, of course, have had to come clean and return my dime to him. So I was doubly happy that he had not.

"Waste, Pigg. Waste, waste, waste," said Aunt Magnolia, getting back into the car. She put a beach towel over her head and said, "Drive."

It was a lovely first day on the road.

Excerpt from Vacation by Polly Horvath, pages 34-39. Copyright . 2005 by Polly Horvath. Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, LLC in 2005. All rights reserved. Visitors to this web site are warned that this work is protected under copyright laws and reproduction is strictly prohibited. Permission to reproduce the material in any manner or medium must be secured from Farrar, Straus and Giroux, LLC.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.