Excerpt from Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Inside, I'm saying, Yes, I was talking to a boy, and so what, and do you have a problem with that? But I wouldn't dream of saying any of those things. Not to Biddy.

"Who is he?" she asks.

"He?"

She turns on her new pointed toes and makes her way to the kitchen. "Dinner will be ready in half an hour. Daddy's coming home early tonight. I wasn't born yesterday, Kate. I know it was a boy you were talking to. I can tell."

Something tells me I haven't heard the end of this.



The boy isn't mentioned during the Irish stew with dumplings, thank the Lord. We gather around the Formica kitchen table, where my dad always sits to the left and Biddy to the right. My place is in the middle, facing the twirling teapot wallpaper.

Biddy starts the conversation rolling by describing an outpatient's genitalia and how embarrassing it was for her having to shave the bank manager "down there" today. And Mrs. Bootsby-Smythe, who does she think she is, with all her airs and pompous graces? Well, she was brought down a peg or two when she had to wait for Dr. Morrison, her legs in stirrups, her privates looking like a cockerel's comb.

I stifle a giggle, at the same time hoping I look okay "down there." Please, God, may I never have to go to the village hospital when my mother is the nurse on duty.

"Kate, now don't you let this get any further than the kitchen table, but Sophie Greengough is pregnant, and only sixteen years old."

Sophie is in the pudding club? She's going to have a baby? But I've never seen her with a boy, she's an A student, forever winning awards at school. She's brilliant at tennis and hockey and everything.

"God help her poor mother," says Biddy. "There was Mrs. Greengough, weeping in the waiting room while Sophie attended the antenatal clinic."

I try and imagine what it would be like doing it. Letting a boy touch you, and . . . God, I wouldn't even let Barry Finch do it. Moira has explained everything to me in great detail—her married sister, Fiona, told her all she wanted to know.

"Kate, what are you thinking about?" asks Biddy. "Tom, please cover the butter."

The meal is over, and as per ritual, my parents light up their cigarettes. Dad must put the lid on the butter dish in case the smoke taints it, and I must remain seated. It wouldn't be polite to leave the table just yet.

"What's on your mind, Kate?" asks Dad, echoing Biddy. A wisp of smoke escapes from his nostrils, curls into his eyes. His hair is Brylcreem-shiny, black, combed flat, like one of those film stars in old movies.

"Nothing. Can I phone Moira?"

I want to tell her about Sophie Greengough.

"Sure. Didn't you talk with her as soon as you came home?" Biddy clicks her fingernails on the Formica. "I'm not stupid, my girl—far from it." She takes a long drag from her cigarette. "It wasn't Moira Murphy making your face beet red."

Dad makes a halfhearted move to stack plates. He always looks for something to do when he senses conflict. And as usual, Biddy tells him to sit down.

Reprinted from Cover the Butter by Carrie Kabak, pages 1-13, with permission from Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. Copyright © 20054 by Carrie Kabak. All rights reserved. This excerpt, or any parts thereof, may not be reproduced without permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.