Excerpt from Cover The Butter by Carrie Kabak, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cover The Butter

by Carrie Kabak

Cover The Butter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"I read it in the shop," she mutters.

"Don't I have enough control already? Forget the girdle. You're doing a great job."

Holding the girdle by its suspenders, I dance toward the radio.

Biddy's lips are all pinched and tight. "Stop jigging about half-naked," she says. "And put the girdle in your underwear drawer. Look after it nicely."

Turning the radio down, just a touch, I hear the soft thud of footsteps.

"Your father's coming upstairs—quick, cover yourself, Kate. He shouldn't be seeing you like this."

"Like what?"

She points at my chest and moves her finger in circles.

"You mean Dad mustn't know I've grown breasts?"

Biddy picks up her shopping bag. "Don't be disgusting. You know what I mean."

Well, I suppose I do know what she means. Dad did look a bit upset last week when Aunt Shauna said, "Tom, will you just look at Kate, sure hasn't she got the loveliest little figure, and won't she be turning boys' heads soon?"



Chapter 2

Friday September 17

Five months later, and my Cross Your Heart bra still doesn't have enough to lift or separate. And the girdle kills, especially now, chafing the tops of my thighs as I climb up Bryre Hill Lane.

Me and Moira had to stay for detention after school because Father Flannagan caught us eating communion wafers during altar-cleaning duty. Moira didn't know what the fuss was about. Nothing had been consecrated. "It wasn't as if we were snacking on the Body of Christ, miss," she told the headmistress.

For that remark, we were awarded an extra hour.

Still, being late home has its advantages, because Barry Finch was on the same bus and he's walking up the lane right behind me as I speak. The fab Barry Finch, I should add. What are the odds Moira will phone as soon as I get home, dying to know if he spoke to me?

But damn, fat chance of that when I'm wearing a green blazer, pleated skirt, and tie.

Totally uncool.

"Hey, nice uniform," he drawls.

"Huh," I reply, finding it difficult to remain aloof when I can feel my stocking tops approaching my knees. I told Biddy the girdle was too long. I'm the third shortest girl in my year, for God's sake.

"Hoighty-toighty, aren't we?"

He's walking alongside me now. Heat creeps up my neck, and, oh shit, I'm turning red. Keeping my head down, I study the scuff marks on my Mary Janes so he can't tell.

"What's life like at Snobhurst Girl's School?" he asks.

He wears drainpipe jeans, a leather jacket, walks with his hands in his pockets.

"Very funny," I say. "Shawhurst Roman Catholic School, actually."

"For girls." He winks a green eye.

Green eyes, black hair. Thick eyebrows, dark skin. A Romeo, a Montague. No, on second thought—like Tony in West Side Story.

Reprinted from Cover the Butter by Carrie Kabak, pages 1-13, with permission from Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. Copyright © 20054 by Carrie Kabak. All rights reserved. This excerpt, or any parts thereof, may not be reproduced without permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.