Excerpt from The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Year of Pleasures

by Elizabeth Berg

The Year of Pleasures
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 225 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Now he looked grateful. "Idn't it?"

I thanked him again and headed for the door. But I turned back before I opened it. "Could you tell me what town this is?"

He pointed to the floor. "This here town where we're at now?"

"Yes."

He straightened, made himself taller. "This is Stewart, Illinois, and I'll tell you what, it's only forty-nine miles from Chicago. Exactamento. I been here my whole life. It's a good town, Stewart. Is this what you're looking for?"

I hesitated, then answered, "Yes."

As I started to open the door again, I heard him clear his throat and say, "Miss?"

I turned back. He was blushing, but with a kind of borrowed confidence, he said, "Would you like to be on my radio show?"

I tried hard not to let my astonishment show. "You have a radio show?"

"Yes, ma'am, Talk of the Town. I get guests from town on, and we talk. That's the show."

I thought of the empty miles I'd driven through to get to this town, the few places of business I'd seen thus far. I didn't recall anything that looked like it might be—or house—a broadcasting studio. "Where?" I asked.

"Right at WMRZ a few blocks over. It's above the drugstore. I've had Louise on my show—we talked about yogurt: Where has it been and where is it going? Louise liked being on a lot, you can ask her. She got dressed up and everything, got herself a new purse for that show." He lowered his voice and leaned over the counter to say, "Louise is the one sponsors me. Her bite is way worse than her bark, if you know what I mean."

I hesitated, then refrained from correcting him. Instead, I said, "Yes, I know exactly what you mean."

"So do you want to be on? I tape every Sunday morning. Six-thirty. You'd have to get up early, but you're going to church, anyways, just get ready sooner."

"Well, I . . ."

"You don't need to answer now," the man said. " If you want to do it, just come back and see me here. Or you can call me. My name's Ed Selwin. My number's in the book. It's spelled exactly more or less like it sounds. You can think on it. Just, I figured if you's moving here, it'd be good to interview you. You being a new person and all."

"But I . . . did I say I was moving here?"

"Not exactly. I just saw your loaded-up car with out-of-state plates, and then you said this is the town you were looking for . . ."

"I see."

"And since you'd be a new person here, it'd be interesting to see where you came from and such. Like that. And don't worry—people get nervous being on the radio, just a natural thing, but I'll settle you right down."

"Okay, well . . . I'll let you know." I waved goodbye and began licking the quickly melting yogurt. Inside the car, I started the engine, turned on the heat—the weather had finally become seasonally appropriate—and finished eating. I had an odd but familiar feeling inside, a kind of surety without grounding. It was something I often felt as a child, and it drove me to do things very quickly and without regret. I wondered if I should say, Yes, here, this is the place, just like that, and then go in search of somewhere to live. Why not? What had I to lose, really? I was in the middle of the country, as I'd wanted to be. It looked to be a charming little town. And anyway, I wouldn't mind moving back toward a certain boldness of spirit, a reliance on a kind of luck I'd always enjoyed. I remembered a story I once heard about a couple from a farm in Iowa looking for a place to live in Washington, D.C. They weren't having any success; everything was incredibly expensive, and to make matters worse, they had three dogs. They became greatly discouraged, and then one day the woman threw up her hands and said, "All right. Let's just drive ten minutes one way and then turn left. And then drive ten minutes more and turn right. And then ten minutes straight, and if we don't find something, we'll give up." What they drove to was a huge farmhouse just outside the city, and a man was standing outside of it. Feeling more than a little foolish, the couple asked if the man happened to know of anything around for rent. Turned out he had a little house on his property he used for hired hands that was newly vacated. Freshly painted. They could have it for next to nothing if they'd help a bit with chores. And three dogs? No problem. John once said, "Sometimes serendipity is just intention, unmasked." I think I answered him with some sort of vague Mmm-hmm, right, hidden as I was behind the Globe's book review. But I'd always remembered it. And now I thought I knew what he'd meant. When you were willing to say what you really wanted, something just might help you along.

Excerpted from The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg Copyright © 2005 by Elizabeth Berg. Excerpted by permission of Random House, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.