Excerpt from The Poet of Tolstoy Park by Sonny Brewer, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Poet of Tolstoy Park

by Sonny Brewer

The Poet of Tolstoy Park
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Henry raced from the post office, still holding the letter in his hand, the pages flapping with the long arcs of Henry's swinging arms. He banged open the front door of his home and charged into his study, fairly tossing the letter onto his desk as he passed it. He went directly to the bookcase where his Tolstoy volumes were neatly arranged and took down Resurrection. In five minutes he had found in the novel a reference to Henry George.

In Book II / Chapter I, this: "Nekhlyudov knew all this when, as a university student, he had confessed and preached Henry Georgism and, on the basis of that teaching, had given to the peasants the land inherited from his father."

And soon in Chapter VI: "Henry George's fundamental position recurred vividly to Nekhlyudov's mind. He remembered how he had once been carried away by it, and he was surprised that he could have forgotten it. ‘The earth cannot be any one's property; it cannot be bought or sold any more than water, air, or sunshine. All have an equal right to the advantages it gives to men.'"

Chapter IX found Tolstoy's character continuing: "Nekhlyudov was encouraged by this, and began to explain Henry George's single-tax system. ‘The earth is no man's; it is God's,' he began."

There was more in Resurrection, and, then, within an hour Henry was into Tolstoy's diaries, and found this:
April 2, 1906. "People talk and argue about Henry George's system. It isn't the system which is valuable (although not only do I not know a better one, but I can't imagine one), but what is valuable is the fact that the system establishes an attitude to land which is universal and the same for everybody. Let them find a better one if they can."

Henry closed the Tolstoy, stacked the book on the others and pushed them all away from the center of his desk and turned back to the letter, meaning to take up where he'd quit reading when he bolted from the post office. He blinked several times until he relocated his spot on the second page.

After a rocky start, according to Stedman, the little colony had attracted numerous hard-working settlers from various parts of the country. The natural beauty of the location together with cooperative development nurtured a kind of democratic communalism that appealed to intellectuals and mavericks, artists and writers and craftspeople, and a reasonable share of crazies. The literature also boasted that several famous visitors, including Upton Sinclair, Sherwood Anderson, Mrs. Henry Ford, and Clarence Darrow, had come to see what Fairhope was all about.

Henry returned the letter to its envelope and slipped it into his shirt pocket. He felt a little chill on his outing to the post office, especially on the way back home, and he went to the hall tree and took down from the brass hook his heavy woolen vest. He slipped it on, and briefly considered his boots standing there beside the hall tree, but thought, no, and walked to his front door and outside to go find his friend Will, probably at his church office. And that is where Henry found him, preparing a sermon for Sunday, a Bible and concordance and note pad open on Will's desk. In a rush, Henry told Will about the Henry George/Leo Tolstoy connection of the Alabama town, then stopped abruptly and asked the preacher if he'd known of it all along, aware of Henry's affection for Tolstoy. Will laughed loudly and told Henry he knew less about nuances in the Gospels than he should, and the prospect of him ferreting out such obscure details was a fantasy of a higher order than walking on water.

"Well, then it is Providence that you bring this to me, Will." Henry rapped his knuckles on Will's desk. "If Clarence Darrow and Upton Sinclair are curious about the goings-on in this Fairhope, then so am I." He walked behind Will's desk and clapped him on the shoulder. "I do believe, Will," Henry had said to his friend, "that you have helped me to discover the right place to live until I die."

Excerpted from The Poet of Tolstoy Park by Sonny Brewer Copyright © 2005 by Sonny Brewer. Excerpted by permission of Ballantine Books, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.