Results for Mysteries & Thrillers + Ordinary People (Thrillers) + 1st Books/1st Novels + Contemporary

Select your view:
  • The Never-Open Desert Diner
    James Anderson
    Hardcover: 03/22/2016
    A singularly compelling debut novel, about a desert where people go to escape their past, and a truck driver ...
  • A Small Indiscretion: A Novel
    Jan Ellison
    Paperback: 02/09/2016
    With the emotional complexity of Everything I Never Told You and the psychological suspense of The Girl on the...
  • The Dinosaur Feather
    S J. Gazan
    Paperback: 11/04/2014
    Winner of the Danish Crime Novel of the Decade, S.J. Gazan's debut novel The Dinosaur Feather is a classic of...
  • Suspect
    Michael Robotham
    Paperback: 12/27/2005
    The hunter becomes the hunted when an expert consultant in a baffling murder case becomes the prime suspect ...
  • The Rule of Four
    Ian Caldwell, Dustin Thomason
    Paperback: 06/28/2005
    An ivy league murder, a mysterious coded manuscript and the secrets of a Renaissance prince collide memorably ...
  • The 6th Lamentation
    William Brodrick
    Paperback: 06/01/2004
    For readers of John Le Carré and Alan Furst, a remarkable debut thriller about love, betrayal and the ...
  • The Kite Runner
    Khaled Hosseini
    Paperback: 04/27/2004
    An epic tale of fathers and sons, of friendship and betrayal, that takes us from Afghanistan in the final days...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 7

Page 1 of 1
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.