Results for Mysteries & Thrillers + Novels + Contemporary, set in UK (Britain) & Ireland

Select your view:
  • Homesick
    Roshi Fernando
    Paperback: 07/02/2013
     
    A stunning debut novel about an extended Sri Lankan family - a kaleidoscopic view of contemporary immigrant ...
  • What Was Lost: A Novel
    Catherine O'Flynn
    Paperback: 06/24/2008
     
    A tender and sharply observant debut novel about a missing young girl - winner of the Costa First Novel Award ...
  • The Thirteenth Tale
    Diane Setterfield
    Paperback: 10/09/2007
     
    A love letter to reading, a book for the feral reader in all of us, a return to that rich vein of storytelling...
  • Yellow: A Novel
    Janni Visman
    Paperback: 06/27/2006
     
    An intense, tautly crafted novel of sensual manipulation and suspense that confirms the arrival of a fantastic...
  • Saturday
    Ian McEwan
    Paperback: 04/01/2006
     
    An astonishing novel that captures the fine balance of happiness and the unforeseen threats that can destroy ...
  • The Sunday Philosophy Club
    Alexander McCall Smith
    Paperback: 07/12/2005
     
    Filled with thorny characters and a Scottish atmosphere as thick as a highland mist, The Sunday Philosophy ...
  • The 6th Lamentation
    William Brodrick
    Paperback: 06/01/2004
     
    For readers of John Le Carré and Alan Furst, a remarkable debut thriller about love, betrayal and the ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 8

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Theme

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.