Results for Non Fiction + History, Current Affairs & Science + 20th Century (multiple decades)

Select your view:
  • Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
    Brian Alexander
    Hardcover: 02/14/2017
     
    In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, ...
  • The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease
    Meredith Wadman
    Hardcover: 02/07/2017
     
    The epic and controversial story of a major breakthrough in cell biology that led to the conquest of rubella ...
  • Pacific: Silicon Chips and Surfboards, Coral Reefs and Atom Bombs, Brutal Dictators, Fading Empires, and the Coming Collision of the World's Superpowers
    Simon Winchester
    Paperback: 10/25/2016
     
    Pacific is a paean to this magnificent sea of beauty, myth, and imagination that is transforming our lives.
  • Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America
    Patrick Phillips
    Hardcover: 09/20/2016
     
    A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of...
  • Stalin's Daughter: The Extraordinary and Tumultuous Life of Svetlana Alliluyeva
    Rosemary Sullivan
    Paperback: 06/21/2016
     
    A painstakingly researched, revelatory biography of Svetlana Stalin, a woman fated to live her life in the ...
  • Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans
    Gary Krist
    Paperback: 06/16/2015
     
    From bestselling author Gary Krist, a vibrant and immersive account of New Orleans' other civil war, at a...
  • How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens
    Benedict Carey
    Paperback: 06/09/2015
     
    In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 46

Page 1 of 7
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Theme
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.