Results for Nonfiction + Biography & Memoir + Dealing with Loss

Select your view:
  • The Inward Empire: Mapping the Wilds of Mortality and Fatherhood
    Christian Donlan
    Hardcover: 06/26/2018
     
    In the vein of The Noonday Demon and When Breath Becomes Air, a father's gorgeous account of navigating his ...
  • Call Me American: A Memoir
    Abdi Nor Iftin
    Hardcover: 06/19/2018
     
    The incredible true story of a boy living in war-torn Somalia who escapes to America--first by way of the ...
  • Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
    Roxane Gay
    Paperback: 06/12/2018
     
    From the New York Times best-selling author of Bad Feminist, a searingly honest memoir of food, weight, self-...
  • Driving Miss Norma: One Family's Journey Saying YES to Living
    Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    Paperback: 05/08/2018
     
    Infused with this irrepressible nonagenarian's wisdom, courage, and generous spirit, and filled with sixteen ...
  • Beauty in the Broken Places: A Memoir of Love, Faith, and Resilience
    Allison Pataki
    Hardcover: 05/01/2018
     
    A deeply moving memoir about a young couple whose lives were changed in the blink of an eye, and the love that...
  • The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After
    Clemantine Wamariya, Elizabeth Weil
    Hardcover: 04/24/2018
     
    A riveting story of dislocation, survival, and the power of stories to break or save us.
  • The Art of the Wasted Day
    Patricia Hampl
    Hardcover: 04/17/2018
     
    A spirited inquiry into the lost value of leisure and daydream.

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 44

Page 1 of 7
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Time Period
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.