Results for Non Fiction + Dealing with Loss + Contemporary

Select your view:
  • You Will Not Have My Hate
    Antoine Leiris
    Hardcover: 10/25/2016
     
    This inspirational and heartbreaking memoir shows the power of love as a young father finds himself suddenly ...
  • Dinner with Edward: A Story of an Unexpected Friendship
    Isabel Vincent
    Hardcover: 05/24/2016
     
    A nonagenarian and a recently divorced reporter meet weekly for dinner, and the discussion ranges from the ...
  • H is for Hawk
    Helen Macdonald
    Paperback: 03/08/2016
     
    Winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    Obsession, madness, memory, myth, and history combine to achieve...
  • Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City
    Matthew Desmond
    Hardcover: 03/01/2016
     
    From Harvard sociologist Matthew Desmond, a landmark work of scholarship and reportage that will forever ...
  • Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital
    Sheri Fink
    Paperback: 01/26/2016
     
    Pulitzer Prize winner Sheri Fink's landmark investigation of patient deaths at a New Orleans hospital ravaged ...
  • When Breath Becomes Air
    Paul Kalanithi
    Hardcover: 01/12/2016
     
    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir...
  • A Man of Good Hope
    Jonny Steinberg
    Paperback: 12/08/2015
     
    In January 1991, when civil war came to Mogadishu, two-thirds of the city's population fled. Among them ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 25

Page 1 of 4
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.