Results for General Fiction + Historical Fiction + Strong Female Leads + 17th Century or Earlier

Select your view:
  • House of Names
    Colm Toibin
    Hardcover: 05/09/2017
     
    From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Tóibín comes a retelling of the ...
  • The Most Beautiful Woman in Florence: A Story of Botticelli
    Alyssa Palombo
    Paperback: 04/25/2017
     
    Alyssa Palombo's The Most Beautiful Woman in Florence vividly captures the dangerous allure of the artist and ...
  • The Miniaturist
    Jessie Burton
    Paperback: 06/02/2015
     
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and ...
  • Dark Aemilia: A Novel of Shakespeare's Dark Lady
    Sally O'Reilly
    Paperback: 06/02/2015
     
    In rich, vivid detail, Sally O'Reilly breathes life into England's first female poet, a mysterious woman ...
  • The Midwife's Tale
    Sam Thomas
    Paperback: 12/10/2013
     
    In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife...
  • Illuminations: A Novel of Hildegard von Bingen
    Mary Sharratt
    Paperback: 10/15/2013
     
    Skillfully interweaving historical fact with psychological insight and vivid imagination, Sharratt's ...
  • Something Red
    Douglas Nicholas
    Paperback: 06/18/2013
     
    An intoxicating and spirited blend of fantasy, mythology, and history, Something Red features the most ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 31

Page 1 of 5
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.