Results for General Fiction + Speculative (Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Alt. History) + 1st Books/1st Novels

Select your view:
  • The End We Start From
    Megan Hunter
    Paperback: 09/18/2018
     
    A searing original, a modern-day parable of rebirth and renewal, of maternal bonds, and the instinct to ...
  • Confessions of the Fox
    Jordy Rosenberg
    Hardcover: 06/26/2018
     
    A love story set in the eighteenth-century London of notorious thieves and queer subcultures, this genre-...
  • Out of the Blue
    Sophie Cameron
    Hardcover: 05/15/2018
     
    When otherworldly beings start falling from the sky, it seems like the end of days are near - but for one girl...
  • Children of Blood and Bone: Legacy of Orisha
    Tomi Adeyemi
    Hardcover: 03/06/2018
     
    Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, ...
  • All the Names They Used for God: Stories
    Anjali Sachdeva
    Hardcover: 02/20/2018
     
    For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, ...
  • All Our Wrong Todays
    Elan Mastai
    Paperback: 02/20/2018
     
    Filled with humor and heart, and saturated with insight and intelligence and a mind-bending talent for ...
  • Night of the Animals
    Bill Broun
    Paperback: 04/25/2017
     
    In this imaginative debut, the tale of Noah's Ark is brilliantly recast as a story of fate and family, set in ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 35

Page 1 of 5
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Time Period
Filter by Setting

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.