Results for General Fiction + Strong Female Leads + 1920s & '30s, set in USA

Select your view:
  • The Game of Love and Death
    Martha Brockenbrough
    Paperback: 04/02/2015
     
    Not since The Book Thief has the character of Death played such an original and affecting part in a book for ...
  • The Other Typist: A Novel
    Suzanne Rindell
    Paperback: 04/01/2014
     
    For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators ...
  • Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
    Therese Fowler
    Paperback: 03/04/2014
     
    A dazzling novel that captures all of the romance, glamour, and tragedy of the first flapper, Zelda Fitzgerald...
  • Calling Me Home
    Julie Kibler
    Paperback: 01/07/2014
     
    Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler is a soaring debut interweaving the story of a heartbreaking, forbidden love ...
  • The Snow Child: A Novel
    Eowyn Ivey
    Paperback: 11/06/2012
     
    Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless,...
  • Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
    Jeannette Walls
    Paperback: 09/07/2010
     
    Jeannette Walls's memoir The Glass Castle was "nothing short of spectacular" (Entertainment Weekly). Now, in ...
  • Honolulu
    Alan Brennert
    Paperback: 02/02/2010
     
    From the bestselling author of Moloka'i comes the irresistible story of a young immigrant bride in a ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 11

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre
Genre: Adult Fiction
Novels - 7
Historical Fiction - 5
Gothic - 1
Love Stories - 3

Genre: Young Adults & Older Children
Young Adults - 1

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.