Results for General Fiction + Strong Female Leads + 17th Century or Earlier, set in UK (Britain) & Ireland

Select your view:
  • Dark Aemilia: A Novel of Shakespeare's Dark Lady
    Sally O'Reilly
    Paperback: 06/02/2015
    In rich, vivid detail, Sally O'Reilly breathes life into England's first female poet, a mysterious woman ...
  • The Midwife's Tale
    Sam Thomas
    Paperback: 12/10/2013
    In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife...
  • Something Red
    Douglas Nicholas
    Paperback: 06/18/2013
    An intoxicating and spirited blend of fantasy, mythology, and history, Something Red features the most ...
  • The Queen's Lover: A Novel
    Vanora Bennett
    Paperback: 03/08/2011
    A fictionalized account of the life and loves of Catherine de Valois, a woman of enormous courage who became ...
  • Daughters of the Witching Hill: A Novel
    Mary Sharratt
    Paperback: 01/05/2011
    Daughters of the Witching Hill brings history to life in a vivid and wrenching account of a family sustained ...
  • The Serpent's Tale
    Ariana Franklin
    Paperback: 02/03/2009
    Ariana Franklin combines the best of modern forensic thrillers with the drama of historical fiction in her ...
  • Portrait of an Unknown Woman: A Novel
    Vanora Bennett
    Paperback: 04/01/2008
    The year is 1527. The great portraitist Hans Holbein, who has fled the reformation in Europe, is making his ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 13

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.