Results for General Fiction + Humor & Satire, set in California

Select your view:
  • The Portable Veblen: A Novel
    Elizabeth McKenzie
    Paperback: 11/01/2016
     
    An exuberant, one-of-a-kind novel about love and family, war and nature, new money and old values by a ...
  • Quicksand
    Steve Toltz
    Paperback: 04/05/2016
     
    A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis...
  • Amy Falls Down
    Jincy Willett
    Paperback: 07/01/2014
     
    A scathingly funny and wickedly humorous roman-a-clef by one of our most acclaimed literary humorists - about ...
  • Luminous Airplanes: A Novel
    Paul LaFarge
    Paperback: 10/02/2012
     
    A decade after the publication of Haussmann, or the Distinction, his acclaimed novel about nineteenth-century ...
  • The Rabbit Factory
    Marshall Karp
    Paperback: 03/20/2007
     
    Bringing a fresh duo of cops to the thriller set, The Rabbit Factory is both suspenseful and satiric; a ...
  • Dating Dead Men
    Harley Jane Kozak
    Paperback: 03/15/2005
     
    Lots of action, quirky characters, an engaging new sleuth who designs greeting cards, and a ferret named ...
  • All Is Vanity
    Christina Schwarz
    Paperback: 11/01/2003
     
    At once darkly comic and moving, this witty exploration of female friendship, envy, and misguided ambition ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 9

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre
Filter by Time Period

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.