Not Logged in.
Book Jacket

Remembrance


A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground ...
More about this book

How is the power of the spirit world preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?

Created: 02/15/20

Replies: 3

Posted Feb. 15, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
davinamw

Join Date: 10/15/10

Posts: 2563

How is the power of the spirit world preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?

Josiah speaks frequently about the gods and the power of the spirit world. How is that power preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?


Posted Feb. 23, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
kimk

Join Date: 10/16/10

Posts: 495

RE: How is the power of the spirit world preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?

It's interesting, but I kind of feel that the women who were the healers weren't the ones who had particular "powers" but those who learned how to heal. Margot, for example, could tell what was wrong with someone but had no ability to make them better. It was her grandmother, who was skilled with herbs, who was able to heal. The same was true of Louisa; she had no mystical abilities, she just educated herself.


Posted Mar. 01, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
rebeccar

Join Date: 03/13/12

Posts: 459

RE: How is the power of the spirit world preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?

Sometimes the greatest healings come from those who can provide some peace of mind and help another person to feel loved, from receiving assurances of /evidence of help. I agree with the comment above that the women seemed to provide the most healing. They certainly do in the animal kingdom, and among my many friends and acquaintances - no matter the gender- it seems that memories of mothers and grandmothers are the strongest compared to fathers or grandfathers.


Posted Mar. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
taking.mytime's Gravatar
taking.mytime

Join Date: 03/29/16

Posts: 243

RE: How is the power of the spirit world preserved across time, and across distances of thousands of miles? Who do you think are the novel's most powerful healers?

Josiah and Mother Abigail, I think, were the most powerful team. And I think it was Josiah that keep the power of the spirit world going across time and distance.


Reply

Please login to post a response.