Martha Ackmann biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Martha Ackmann
Photo: Donna Cote

Martha Ackmann

Martha Ackmann Biography

Martha Ackmann is a journalist, author and editor who writes about women who have changed America. Her works have appeared in The New York Times, The Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, and many other publications around the country. A frequent contributor to the op-ed pages of the nation's newspapers, Ackmann focuses on science, women's history, medicine, politics and sports. She is also a commentator for National Public Radio.

Ackmann's book, The Mercury 13, tells the story of thirteen women pilots who secretly tested to become America's first woman in space. Her newest book, Curveball, recounts the life of the remarkable Toni Stone, baseball's "female Jackie Robinson." Ackmann has been featured on many television and radio programs, including The Today Show, CNN, BBC and Voice of America programs.

A much sought after public speaker, Ackmann addresses colleges and universities as well as history museums, government agencies, corporate and business groups and professional organizations. A member of the faculty of the Gender Studies Department at Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts, Ackmann teaches courses in women's public writing. A long-time scholar of the Emily Dickinson's work and the president of the Emily Dickinson International Society, Ackmann teaches a popular seminar every fall in the Dickinson Homestead in Amherst, Massachusetts—the very site where Emily Dickinson wrote her memorable poems. Ackmann earned her B.A. from Lindenwood College, an M.A. from Middlebury College, and a Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts. She is the recipient of a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship and is the former Augustus Anson Whitney Scholar in Non-Fiction at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

Born and raised in St. Louis, Ackmann has worked as a high school journalism teacher, an editorial writer, a radio reporter and an instructor of countless sections of freshman composition. In her early twenties as a media publicist, she wrote plot synopses for TV Guide.

Ackmann now lives in rural western Massachusetts. She is writing a new book about poet Emily Dickinson, tentatively entitled Vesuvius at Home.

Martha Ackmann's website

This bio was last updated on 01/14/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Martha Ackmann at BookBrowse
The Mercury 13 jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Martha Ackmann but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Liv Arnesen

    Liv Arnesen

    Liv (pronounced 'leave') Arnesen's rich life experiences, both on and off the ice, have made her an internationally recognized leader and role model for women and girls. A self-proclaimed "keen" but not ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mercury 13

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Liv Arnesen

  • Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft is one of the world's preeminent polar explorers and an internationally recognized leader who is dedicated to inspiring women and girls around the world to unleash the power of their dreams. Through her various ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Mercury 13

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Ann Bancroft

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Midwinter Break
    Midwinter Break
    by Bernard MacLaverty
    Northern Ireland's Bernard MacLaverty is the author of five novels and multiple short story ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ninth Hour
    The Ninth Hour
    by Alice McDermott
    In a pivotal scene in The Ninth Hour, young Sally encounters an increasingly loathsome series of ...
  • Book Jacket: Rebellion
    Rebellion
    by Molly Patterson
    Rebellion overlays the stories of four women, spanning a century and the globe in their wide ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford

    Inspired by a true story, about a boy whose life is transformed at Seattle's epic 1909 World's Fair.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Twelve-Mile Straight
    by Eleanor Henderson

    An audacious epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If the Creek Don't Rise

If the Creek Don't Rise

A debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y Can't M A S P O O A S E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.