C.J. Box biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

C.J. Box

C.J. Box

C.J. Box Biography

C. J. Box is the author of over ten novels including the award-winning Joe Pickett series. He’s the winner of the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and an Edgar Award and L.A. Times Book Prize finalist. Box was named 2007 Writer of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. His short stories have been featured in America’s Best Mystery Stories 2006 and limited-edition printings. The novels have been national bestsellers and have been translated into 13 languages.

Blue Heaven, a stand-alone thriller, was published by St. Martins Press in January, 2008 and was on the New York Times Bestseller list for four weeks and was optioned for film. Blood Trail, the eighth Joe Pickett novel, was published by Penguin/Putnam in May, 2008.

Box is a Wyoming native and has worked as a ranch hand, surveyor, fishing guide, a small town newspaper reporter and editor, and he co-owns an international tourism marketing firm with his wife, Laurie. An avid outdoorsman, Box has hunted, fished, hiked, ridden, and skied throughout Wyoming and the Mountain West. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo. Box lives with his family outside of Cheyenne, Wyoming.


Joe Pickett series

  1. Open Season (2001)
  2. Savage Run (2002)
  3. Winterkill (2003)
  4. Trophy Hunt (2004)
  5. Out of Range (2005)
  6. In Plain Sight (2006)
  7. Free Fire (2007)
  8. Blood Trail (2008)
  9. Below Zero (2009)
  10. Nowhere to Run (2010)
  11. Cold Wind (2011)
  12. Force of Nature (2012)
  13. Breaking Point (2013)
  14. Stone Cold (2014)
  15. Endangered (2015)
  16. Off The Grid (2016)
  17.  

Other Novels

  • Blue Heaven (2008)
  • Three Weeks to Say Goodbye (2009)
  • Back of Beyond (2011)
  • C.J. Box's website

    This bio was last updated on 06/27/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Books by this Author

    Books by C.J. Box at BookBrowse
    Vicious Circle jacket Off the Grid jacket Badlands jacket The Highway jacket
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Readalikes

    All the books below are recommended as readalikes for C.J. Box but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
    How we choose readalikes

    • Nevada Barr

      Nevada Barr

      "Nevada Barr has carved out her own fictional fiefdom, creating a body of work like no other," the San Diego Union Tribune remarked in 1996 upon the publication of the fifth book in Barr’s acclaimed series featuring ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel

      Try:
      Flashback
      by Nevada Barr

    • James Crumley

      James Crumley

      Novelist James Crumley was born in Three Rivers, Texas, on October 12, 1939 and spent most of his childhood in south Texas. After graduation he attended the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta on a Navy ROTC ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel

      Try:
      The Final Country
      by James Crumley

    We recommend 6 similar authors

    View all 6 Readalikes

    Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Award Winners

    • Book Jacket: Educated
      Educated
      by Tara Westover
      Voted 2018 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

      Tara Westover had the kind of ...
    • Book Jacket: Circe
      Circe
      by Madeline Miller
      Voted 2018 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

      Towards the end of Madeline Miller...
    • Book Jacket: Children of Blood and Bone
      Children of Blood and Bone
      by Tomi Adeyemi
      Voted 2018 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

      What would you do if, in a ...
    • Book Jacket: Where the Crawdads Sing
      Where the Crawdads Sing
      by Delia Owens
      Voted 2018 Best Debut Novel Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

      Where the Crawdads Sing was a ...

    See all Award Winners & Top 20

    Book Discussion
    Book Jacket
    Unsheltered
    by Barbara Kingsolver

    A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

    About the book
    Join the discussion!

    Readers Recommend

    • Book Jacket

      A Ladder to the Sky
      by John Boyne

      A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man.
      Reader Reviews

    Win this book!
    Win The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

    The 7 ½ Deaths of
    Evelyn Hardcastle

    "Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day...quite unlike anything I've ever read." - A. J. Finn

    Enter

    Word Play

    The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

    Enter Now

    Books that     
    entertain,
         engage

     & enlighten

    Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

    Join Today!

    Your guide toexceptional          books

    BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.