George Bush biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

George Bush

George Bush

George Bush Biography

George Herbert Walker Bush was born in Milton, Massachusetts on June 12, 1924. At the age of 18, he enlisted as a Navel pilot and fought in World War II. He was shot down over the Pacific, rescued at sea and given the Distinguished Flying Cross. Active in polictics throughout his adult life, Bush was a U.S. congressman (1966-70); ambassador to the United Nations (1971-73); chairman of the Republican National Committee (1973-74); chief of the U.S. Liaison Office in China (1974-75); director of the Central Intelligence Agency (1976-77); and was vice president under Ronald Reagan (1980-1988). He was elected the forty-first president of the United States and served from 1989-1993.

He married Barbara Pierce on January 6, 1945, and together they have six children: George Walker Bush (born 1946, forty-third president of the United States 2000-2008), Pauline Robinson Bush ("Robin", 1949–1953, died of leukemia), John Ellis "Jeb" Bush (born 1953), Neil Mallon Bush (born 1955), Marvin Pierce Bush (born 1956, former governor of Florida), and Dorothy Bush Koch (born 1959). Bush and his wife moved to Houston, Texas and Kennebunkport, Maine following his retirement from elected office.

Bush is the coauthor with Brent Scowcroft of the 1998 critically acclaimed book A World Transformed. He also wrote All The Best, George Bush published in 1999.



This bio was last updated on 06/16/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by George Bush at BookBrowse
All The Best, George Bush jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for George Bush but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Edmund Morris

    Edmund Morris

    Edmund Morris was born and educated in Kenya and went to college in South Africa. He worked as an advertising copywriter in London before immigrating to the United States in 1968. His biography The Rise of Theodore ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    All The Best, George Bush

    Try:
    Dutch
    by Edmund Morris

  • Nancy Reagan

    Nancy Reagan

    Ronald and Nancy Reagan were America's president and first lady from 1981 to 1989.

    Nancy Reagan was born in New York, was raised in Chicago, and attended Smith College. During the summers before graduation, she worked in... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    All The Best, George Bush

    Try:
    I Love You, Ronnie
    by Nancy Reagan

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Confessions of an Innocent Man
    Confessions of an Innocent Man
    by David R. Dow
    It is circumstance that carries the wave that sweeps trendy Houston restaurateur Rafael Zhettah to ...
  • Book Jacket: Memories of the Future
    Memories of the Future
    by Siri Hustvedt
    I've never kept a journal, but my mother has written in hers for years, the annual volumes she's ...
  • Book Jacket: Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    by Rajeev Balasubramanyam
    Rajeev Balasubramanyam encapsulates the theme of Professor Chandra Follows his Bliss in its first ...
  • Book Jacket: The Workshop and the World
    The Workshop and the World
    by Robert P. Crease
    The longest glacier in France, the Mer de Glace, is losing roughly 12 feet of ice height each year. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris

    The Comma Queen returns with a buoyant book about language, love, and the wine-dark sea.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Affairs of the Falcóns
    by Melissa Rivero

    A beautiful, urgent novel about the lengths one woman is willing to go to build a new life.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win Ecstasy

Win copies to share with friends or your book club!

Ecstasy reveals the true Alma Mahler: composer, author, daughter, mother, wife, lover, and muse.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A B Penny A T U

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.