George Bush biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

George Bush

George Bush

George Bush Biography

George Herbert Walker Bush was born in Milton, Massachusetts on June 12, 1924. At the age of 18, he enlisted as a Navel pilot and fought in World War II. He was shot down over the Pacific, rescued at sea and given the Distinguished Flying Cross. Active in polictics throughout his adult life, Bush was a U.S. congressman (1966-70); ambassador to the United Nations (1971-73); chairman of the Republican National Committee (1973-74); chief of the U.S. Liaison Office in China (1974-75); director of the Central Intelligence Agency (1976-77); and was vice president under Ronald Reagan (1980-1988). He was elected the forty-first president of the United States and served from 1989-1993.

He married Barbara Pierce on January 6, 1945, and together they have six children: George Walker Bush (born 1946, forty-third president of the United States 2000-2008), Pauline Robinson Bush ("Robin", 1949–1953, died of leukemia), John Ellis "Jeb" Bush (born 1953), Neil Mallon Bush (born 1955), Marvin Pierce Bush (born 1956, former governor of Florida), and Dorothy Bush Koch (born 1959). Bush and his wife moved to Houston, Texas and Kennebunkport, Maine following his retirement from elected office.

Bush is the coauthor with Brent Scowcroft of the 1998 critically acclaimed book A World Transformed. He also wrote All The Best, George Bush published in 1999.

George Bush's website

This bio was last updated on 08/27/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by George Bush at BookBrowse
All The Best, George Bush jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for George Bush but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Edmund Morris

    Edmund Morris

    Edmund Morris was born and educated in Kenya and went to college in South Africa. He worked as an advertising copywriter in London before immigrating to the United States in 1968. His biography The Rise of Theodore ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    All The Best, George Bush

    Try:
    Dutch
    by Edmund Morris

  • Nancy Reagan

    Nancy Reagan

    Ronald and Nancy Reagan were America's president and first lady from 1981 to 1989.

    Nancy Reagan was born in New York, was raised in Chicago, and attended Smith College. During the summers before graduation, she worked in... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    All The Best, George Bush

    Try:
    I Love You, Ronnie
    by Nancy Reagan

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.