Bem Le Hunte biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bem Le Hunte

Bem Le Hunte

How to pronounce Bem Le Hunte: http://www.bemlehunte.com/bemlehunte/Home.html

Bem Le Hunte Biography

Bem Le Hunte is half Indian, half English and an Australian by choice. Her first novel, The Seduction of Silence, is the story of five generations of an Indian family, set in the Himalayas and London. Her second novel, There, Where the Pepper Grows is a story about a group of refugees who escape Nazi persecution in Poland, to arrive in Calcutta during the war.

Both novels have gone on to become international number 1 bestsellers and been published to great critical acclaim. She is currently completing a third novel and film script titled Father of all Stories. Bem Le Hunte is also completing a doctoral thesis on creativity and the sacred at Sydney University.

Bem Le Hunte's website

This bio was last updated on 02/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Bem Le Hunte discusses the inspiration for her stunning first book The Seduction of Silence, and how the more magical and unbelievable parts of the tale are actually based on true events, many from her own experience.

How do you compare yourself to other writers writing about the India experience?
I don't. I feel as if my writing has more Latin American influences, if anything. I love so much of the writing that is coming through writers of Indian descent, but I feel I am a product of my own experience, which is not geographically expressed. I don't intend to write only about India in the future. Neither did I ever intend my book to be some kind of an ethnic experience. Actually, it isn't a typically Indian story, and I don't write in an Indian voice. Nonetheless, India is a huge inspiration for me. When I'm there I'm saturated with the color, smell and personality of the land and I feel as if absolutely anything could happen. India is truly the country of the unexpected, and from a writer's point of view, it is rich with possibilities. Also, the spirituality of the people has always touched me, although Indians nowadays like to believe that they are not a spiritual nation, but an industrial superpower!

How would you describe the experience of writing?
It's a feeling of being connected, on a deep level, to a part of your self that is fully based in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bem Le Hunte at BookBrowse
The Seduction of Silence jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bem Le Hunte but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson was born in York, England in 1951 and studied English Literature at Dundee University in Scotland. After graduating in 1974, she researched a postgraduate doctorate on American Literature. She later taught at ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Seduction of Silence

    Try:
    Life After Life
    by Kate Atkinson

  • Kavita Daswani

    Kavita Daswani

    Kavita Daswani is an Indian-American author. She has been a fashion correspondent for CNN, CNBC Asia, and Women's Wear Daily, has written for the Los Angeles Times and the International Herald Tribune, among many other ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Seduction of Silence

    Try:
    For Matrimonial Purposes
    by Kavita Daswani

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose & Fiona Davis (editors)

    One City.
    One Movement.
    A World of Stories.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.