Teresa Barker biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Teresa Barker

Teresa Barker Biography

Teresa Barker is a veteran journalist and book writer, whose collaborations include the New York Times bestseller The Big Disconnect: Protecting Childhood and Family Relationships in the Digital Age, with Catherine Steiner-Adair, EdD (HarperCollins 2013), Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Lives of Boys (Ballantine 1999) with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D., and Dan Kindlon, Ph.D.; In the Moment: Celebrating the Everyday, a Literary Guild Holiday Featured Selection with Harvey L. Rich, MD (HarperCollins 2002); Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident, Courageous Daughters, a USA Today Top Summer Reading choice, with JoAnn Deak, Ph.D. (Hyperion 2002); Speaking of Boys: Answers to the Most-Asked Questions About Raising Boys (Ballantine 2000) by Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D.; The Creative Age: Awakening Human Potential in the Second Half of Life (Avon 2000), by Gene Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., founding director of the national Center on Aging, and The Mother-Daughter Book Club: How Ten Busy Mothers and Daughters Came Together to Talk, Laugh and Learn Through Their Love of Reading (HarperCollins 1997) by Shireen Dodson, former assistant director of the Smithsonian Institution's Center for African American History. Also, The Soul of Money: Transforming Your Relationship with Money and Life with Lynne Twist (W.W. Norton September 2003) and The Pressured Child: Helping Your Child Find Success in School and Life with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D. (Ballantine Fall 2004).

Prior to becoming a book writer, Barker's journalism career included work as a feature writer, general news reporter and beat reporter, at different times specializing in health, education, legal affairs and family issues. In Chicago since 1983, she previously was on staff or worked as a regular contributor at the Chicago Tribune, the Chicago Sun-Times, Time and Advertising Age. Before moving to Chicago she was as a staff reporter for the Eugene (Ore.) Register-Guard, the Dubuque (Iowa) Telegraph-Herald, the Nashville Tennessean and the Memphis Commercial Appeal. For nearly a decade, she was the writer of the nationally syndicated women's health newsletter Regarding Women and Healthcare. Early in her career, Barker was an advertising copywriter in Nashville, and occasionally continues to serve as an editorial and creative consultant to corporate and not-for-profit clients.

Barker graduated from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in 1979, where she was editor of the university daily. Barker is married and lives with her husband and children in the Chicago area.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Teresa Barker at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket The Mother-Daughter Book Club jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Teresa Barker but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...
  • Book Jacket: This Blessed Earth
    This Blessed Earth
    by Ted Genoways
    For the Hammonds, a farming family in Nebraska, the 2014 harvest season started with a perfect storm...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.