David L. Robbins biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

David L. Robbins

David L. Robbins

David L. Robbins Biography

David L. Robbins was born in Richmond, Virginia, on March 10, 1954. He grew up in Sandston, a small town east of Richmond. Both his parents, Sam and Carol, were veterans of WWII.

In 1976, Robbins graduated from the College of William & Mary, in Williamsburg, Virginia, with a B.A. in Theater and Speech. He did not know what to do for a living, having little real theatrical talents, so he decided to attend law school. He received his Juris Doctorate at William and Mary in 1980. Robbins practiced environmental law in Columbia, S.C. for a year before turning his energy to a career as a freelance writer in 1981. He began writing fiction in 1990.

Robbins has published eight novels: Souls To Keep, a cosmic love story (published by HarperCollins in 1998); War Of The Rats, a book set during the battle of Stalingrad (Bantam in 1999); The End of War, a novel about the fall of Berlin at the end of WWII (Bantam in 2000); Scorched Earth, a story placed in the American South about a church burning and contemporary racism (Bantam, 2002); Last Citadel, an epic of the great tank battle of Kursk on the Eastern Front of WWII (Bantam in 2003); Liberation Road (Bantam 2005), a sweeping tale of the battle for France in WWII told through the perspectives of two minorities in the U.S. Army, a black truck driver and a rabbi chaplain; The Assassins Gallery (Bantam, 2006), an alternate history political thriller supposing the assassination of FDR; and The Betrayal Game (Bantam, 2008), a follow-up to The Assassins Gallery, detailing the CIA's attempts to kill Fidel Castro. His latest book is Broken Jewel, the story of the great airborne rescue of the Los Baños internment camp in the Philippines. Broken Jewel also invokes the tale of the Comfort Women, the still-unresolved Japanese atrocity of sexually enslaving a quarter million conquered women.

Robbins is an accomplished guitarist, studying the works of Latin classical. At six feet six inches tall, he stays active with his sailboat, shooting sporting clays, weightlifting, and traveling to research his novels. He is founder of the James River Writers, a non-profit group in his hometown of Richmond that helps aspiring writers and students work and learn together as a writing community. He is currently engaged in co-founding The Podium Foundation, a non-profit which will bring writing and critical reasoning programs to the students of Richmond's high schools. He also teaches advanced creative writing at his alma mater, the College of William and Mary. He resides in Richmond.

David Robbins's website

This bio was last updated on 01/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by David L. Robbins at BookBrowse
Broken Jewel jacket The Betrayal Game jacket Scorched Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for David L. Robbins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert was born in Englewood, New Jersey, to Herbert E. Brennert, an aviation writer, and Almyra E. Brennert, an apartment rentals manager.  He grew up in Cliffside Park and Edgewater, New Jersey, always living... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken Jewel

    Try:
    Honolulu
    by Alan Brennert

  • Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies was born in 1966 to Welsh and Chinese parents. He has degrees in Physics and English, and was awarded an MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. He has worked in Malaysia, Singapore, and the USA, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken Jewel

    Try:
    The Welsh Girl
    by Peter Ho Davies

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.