MLA Platinum Award Press Release

David L. Robbins biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

David L. Robbins

David L. Robbins

David L. Robbins Biography

David L. Robbins was born in Richmond, Virginia, on March 10, 1954. He grew up in Sandston, a small town east of Richmond. Both his parents, Sam and Carol, were veterans of WWII.

In 1976, Robbins graduated from the College of William & Mary, in Williamsburg, Virginia, with a B.A. in Theater and Speech. He did not know what to do for a living, having little real theatrical talents, so he decided to attend law school. He received his Juris Doctorate at William and Mary in 1980. Robbins practiced environmental law in Columbia, S.C. for a year before turning his energy to a career as a freelance writer in 1981. He began writing fiction in 1990.

Robbins has published eight novels: Souls To Keep, a cosmic love story (published by HarperCollins in 1998); War Of The Rats, a book set during the battle of Stalingrad (Bantam in 1999); The End of War, a novel about the fall of Berlin at the end of WWII (Bantam in 2000); Scorched Earth, a story placed in the American South about a church burning and contemporary racism (Bantam, 2002); Last Citadel, an epic of the great tank battle of Kursk on the Eastern Front of WWII (Bantam in 2003); Liberation Road (Bantam 2005), a sweeping tale of the battle for France in WWII told through the perspectives of two minorities in the U.S. Army, a black truck driver and a rabbi chaplain; The Assassins Gallery (Bantam, 2006), an alternate history political thriller supposing the assassination of FDR; and The Betrayal Game (Bantam, 2008), a follow-up to The Assassins Gallery, detailing the CIA's attempts to kill Fidel Castro. His latest book is Broken Jewel, the story of the great airborne rescue of the Los Baños internment camp in the Philippines. Broken Jewel also invokes the tale of the Comfort Women, the still-unresolved Japanese atrocity of sexually enslaving a quarter million conquered women.

Robbins is an accomplished guitarist, studying the works of Latin classical. At six feet six inches tall, he stays active with his sailboat, shooting sporting clays, weightlifting, and traveling to research his novels. He is founder of the James River Writers, a non-profit group in his hometown of Richmond that helps aspiring writers and students work and learn together as a writing community. He is currently engaged in co-founding The Podium Foundation, a non-profit which will bring writing and critical reasoning programs to the students of Richmond's high schools. He also teaches advanced creative writing at his alma mater, the College of William and Mary. He resides in Richmond.

David Robbins's website

This bio was last updated on 01/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by David L. Robbins at BookBrowse
Broken Jewel jacket The Betrayal Game jacket Scorched Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for David L. Robbins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert is a novelist, screenwriter, and playwright. He was born in 1954 in Englewood, New Jersey, to Herbert E. Brennert, an aviation writer, and Almyra E. Brennert, an apartment rentals manager. He has lived since ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken Jewel

    Try:
    Honolulu
    by Alan Brennert

  • Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies was born in 1966 to Welsh and Chinese parents. He has degrees in Physics and English, and was awarded an MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. He has worked in Malaysia, Singapore, and the USA, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Broken Jewel

    Try:
    The Welsh Girl
    by Peter Ho Davies

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.