Carol Shields biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Carol Shields

Carol Shields

Carol Shields Biography

Born and brought up in Chicago (in the same suburb as Ernest Hemingway), Carol lived in Canada since 1957.

She died of cancer in July 2003. at the age of 68. She is survived by her husband, Don, and their children John, Anne, Catherine, Meg and Sara.

The Stone Diaries was nominated for The Man Booker Prize Best Novel and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Novel. She won the Orange Prize for Fiction for Larry's Party. Unless was nominated for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction, The Man Booker Prize and the Orange Prize for Fiction Best Novel.

Bibliography

Novels
Small Ceremonies (1976)
The Box Garden (1977)
Happenstance (1980)
A Fairly Conventional Woman (1982)
Mary Swann (1987) aka Swann
The Orange Fish (1989)
A Celibate Season (1991, with Blanche Howard)
The Republic of Love (1992)
The Stone Diaries (1993)
Larry's Party (1997)
Unless (2002)
Duet (2003)

Collections
Others (1972, poems)
Intersect (1974, poems)
Various Miracles (1985)
Coming to Canada (1992, poems)
Dressing up for the Carnival (2000)
Thirteen Hands and Other Plays (2002)
The Collected Stories (2004)

Plays
Departures & Arrivals (1988)
Fashion, Power, Guilt and the Charity of Families (1993, with Catherine Shields)
Thirteen Hands (1997)
Anniversary (1998, with Dave Williamson)

Non Fiction
Susanna Moodie: Voice and Vision (1977)
Jane Austen (2001)
A Memoir of Friendship: The Letters Between Carol Shields and Blanche Howard (2007)
The Staircase Letters (2007, with Elma Gerwin, Arthur Motyer)

Bibliography courtesy of Fantastic Fiction

Carol Shields's website

This bio was last updated on 10/21/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Carol Shields

Can you tell us how you became a writer?
I was a word-conscious child. My terrible early efforts -- by terrible, I mean derivative and unreflective -- were encouraged by my teachers and parents. I loved narrative; I knew that very early. And the act of writing was for me probably the most spiritual experience in my life. It seemed only natural to write the kind of books that I wanted to read.

What inspired you to write this particular book? Is there a story about the writing of this novel that begs to be told?
I wanted to write a novel after writing a biography and I found the voice of the novel in a short story I had previously published, "A Scarf," in Dressing Up for the Carnival. I wanted to write in the first person after many years of writing in the third person. A friend, Winnipeg writer Jake MacDonald, convinced me during one of our many long lunches that we novelists would be able to show more "decent" people in fiction if we wrote in the first person. His theory is that the third-person voice makes us nasty and ironic and less in tune with the world. I think he's right. I chose the voice of 44 year-old Reta Winters, a wife and mother, a writer and translator,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Carol Shields at BookBrowse
Unless jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Carol Shields but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tatiana de Rosnay

    Tatiana de Rosnay

    Tatiana de Rosnay was born on September 28th, 1961 in the suburbs of Paris. She is of English, French and Russian descent.  Her father is French scientist Joël de Rosnay, her grandfather was painter Gaëtan ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Unless

    Try:
    A Secret Kept
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

  • Louise Erdrich

    Louise Erdrich

    Louise Erdrich is one of the most gifted, prolific, and challenging of contemporary Native American novelists. Born in 1954 in Little Falls, Minnesota, she grew up mostly in Wahpeton, North Dakota, where her parents taught ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Unless

    Try:
    The Master Butchers Singing Club
    by Louise Erdrich

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.