Jean M. Auel biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jean M. Auel
Photo: John Emerling

Jean M. Auel

How to pronounce Jean M. Auel: OW(-uh)l

Jean M. Auel Biography

Jean Auel is an American author best known for her Earth's Children® books, a series of novels set in prehistoric Europe that explores interactions of Cro-Magnon people with Neanderthals. As of 2010 her novels have sold more than 45 million copies worldwide. The series consists of The Clan of the Cave Bear (1980), The Valley of Horses(1982), The Mammoth Hunters (1985), The Plains of Passage (1990), The Shelters of Stone (2002), and The Land of Painted Caves (2011).

Ms. Auel lives in Portland, Oregon. She holds four honorary degrees from universities, and was awarded the French government's Ministry of Culture "Officer in the Order of Arts and Letters" medal.

Jean Auel's website

This bio was last updated on 06/11/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jean M. Auel at BookBrowse
The Shelters of Stone jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jean M. Auel but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Steven Barnes

    Steven Barnes

    Steven Barnes is an American science fiction writer, lecturer, creative consultant, and human performance technician.

    He has written several novels and teleplays. He has written several episodes of The Outer Limits and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shelters of Stone

    Try:
    Zulu Heart
    by Steven Barnes

  • Michelle Paver

    Michelle Paver

    Born in Malawi to Belgian and South African parents, Michelle Paver moved to Wimbledon, England as a young girl. She was educated at The Study and Wimbledon High School. After reading biochemistry at University of Oxford, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shelters of Stone

    Try:
    Wolf Brother
    by Michelle Paver

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Hermit
    by Thomas Rydahl
    If you can be comfortable with Scandinavian noir played out against the sun-drenched backdrop of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Radium Girls
    The Radium Girls
    by Kate Moore
    In 1915, Austrian-born Sabin von Sochocky developed a luminescent paint that used radium to create a...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Essex Serpent
    by Sarah Perry

    Costa Book Award Finalist and the Waterstones (UK) Book of the Year 2016
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.