Suzanne Gold biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Suzanne Gold

Suzanne Gold

Suzanne Gold Biography

Born and raised in northwestern Philadelphia -- Mt. Airy, Chestnut Hill, West Oak Lane and Germantown—Suzanne Gold went to the Philadelphia High School for Girls, a magnet high school for "academically talented young women" from all over the city. After a year at Albright College in Reading, PA, she got her Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Clinical Psychology from Temple University. She spent the next two years in New York and Boston, finally settling in California. She has worked as a psychologist and therapist in a psychiatric hospital and halfway houses, in drug treatment, and private practice. She also teaches classes in surviving a dysfunctional family, and has taught meditation, human potential and junior high school.

Gold is an award-winning vocalist and songwriter and performed for ten years in nightclubs, and at corporate and private parties. As an activist, she co-founded women Helping All People, a self-help group for women in public housing, and the Earth Day Every Day Fund, with the Marin Community Foundation. Her artistic expressions include making collages and jewelry from recycled materials, and photography.

While reading Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg, Gold was taken by Goldberg's idea of writing in cafes-- she said the noise and bustle occupies the part of your brain that would normally be telling you your writing stinks and you'll never amount to anything. She invited a friend to join her, and they met monthly in different cafes. Choosing a theme of the day, they'd write and read to each other what they wrote. Gold found herself turning memories from her childhood into fiction, and after a few of those, her friend declared it the foundation for Gold's next book. Suzanne was surprised, because to her, the stories seemed like simple reminiscences. But she trusted her friend's literary taste, so she kept writing, fictionalizing as she went, and the result is Daddy's Girls.

Based on her experience as a therapist and member of a family with mental illness, Suzanne is currently working on a book called Surviving a Dysfunctional Family: Ten Ways to Make Peace With the Past and Create a New Future. She currently writes a weekly column for United Press International's Religion and Spirituality website, a blog for The San Francisco Chronicle, and is a minister in the Universal Life Church.



This bio was last updated on 10/26/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Suzanne Gold shares how she came to write Daddy’s Girls, her spiritual perspective on the nature of mental illness, and how (or whether) she escaped her sister's fate.

What's your background?

I've been a psychologist, professional vocalist, activist, artisan and teacher before becoming a writer, but my most profound lessons have come from learning to cope with my dysfunctional family. I've worked in a state mental hospital, drug treatment center, halfway houses for psychiatric clients, and in private practice. I'm also an award-winning vocalist and songwriter, working in nightclubs, corporate and private parties. As an activist, I worked with environmental and community self-help groups. I've taught junior high school, human potential workshops, and esoteric and meditative techniques. My fiction has been published in Northern Journeys, a literary magazine of the Pacific Northwest, and I've written articles and music reviews for SF Weekly, done business editing, public relations, grant writing. I also co-authored and self-published "Being Yourself: Twenty-Four Ways to See the Light", a self-help book that promotes spiritual awareness and peace of mind. and written two mysteries, as yet unpublished, that got rave rejections from New York publishers. I live with my artist husband, Dan Cooper, near San Francisco.

 

How did you come to write "Daddy's Girls?" 

While I was ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Suzanne Gold at BookBrowse
Daddy's Girls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Suzanne Gold but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Virginia Holman

    Virginia Holman

    Virginia Holman is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, a Roslynn Carter Mental Health Journalism Fellowship, and a North Carolina Arts Council grant. Rescuing Patty Hearst won the 2003 Outstanding Literature Award from the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daddy's Girls

    Try:
    Rescuing Patty Hearst
    by Virginia Holman

  • Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen was born on 11 November, 1948, and raised in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her father is the economist Carl Kaysen (b.1920), formerly a professor at MIT and advisor to President John F. Kennedy.  In 1967 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daddy's Girls

    Try:
    Girl, Interrupted
    by Susanna Kaysen

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Aeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A People's History of Heaven
    by Mathangi Subramanian

    A story of love and friendship, and fighting for the places we love.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.