Bettyann Craddock biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bettyann Craddock

Bettyann Craddock

Bettyann Craddock Biography

Bettyann Craddock is a self-educated mother of five. She is an honor graduate of the U.S. Air Force, and a student of life with a special interest in human motivation. She has lived in England, Italy, Germany, and every region of the U.S., including Hawaii. Presently she lives in New Mexico with her family.



This bio was last updated on 12/27/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Bettyann Craddock shares her experience in writing The Culling Dark and the reason why several publishing houses rejected her work -– an artful oxymoron.

Writing fictionally by inspiration is a deeply satisfying experience. The story as it unfolds becomes a frontier for the writer, the characters within the story alive, weaving themselves of their own volition for the author to record. It is a quickening experience, providing an irresistible impetus for the craft.

The writing of The Culling Dark was very much this sort of experience. The characters took on their own life, the progression of the narrative, the continual weaving of dream, was the result of watching and recording. When the members of Gamma escaped into the wilderness, their journey unfolded throughout, so that when they stood before the doors of Oz, I, too, felt in awe.

The craft of writing is the pursuit of tasty words that smack of truth. At times the words jump from finger tip to screen, at others it is a painful labour, the birth of them arriving only after great strain. When Major and L'Abri stand in the ruined square, and Major becomes spooked by the extent of the death that had occurred there, the descripting paragraph was such an effort.

Tone is everything in the narrative. The tone of the narrative in The Culling Dark is purposely, deceptively na&#...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bettyann Craddock at BookBrowse
The Culling Dark jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bettyann Craddock but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • China Mieville

    China Mieville

    China Miéville lives and works in London. He is a three-time winner of the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award (Perdido Street Station, Iron Council, and The City & the City) and has also won the British Fantasy Award ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Culling Dark

    Try:
    Embassytown
    by China Mieville

  • Susan Price

    Susan Price

    Susan Price was born near Birmingham in the British Midlands on July 8, 1955, where she still lives today. She began writing at an early age and often entertained her younger siblings with her stories. When she was 15 and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Culling Dark

    Try:
    The Sterkarm Handshake
    by Susan Price

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Grace
    by Paul Lynch
    Harrowing. Gorgeous. Epic. Grace, Paul Lynch's coming of age novel about a young woman, is set ...
  • Book Jacket: The Perfectionists
    The Perfectionists
    by Simon Winchester
    We seek precision in our lives every day. We want to drive from home to work and work to home safely...
  • Book Jacket: Beauty in the Broken Places
    Beauty in the Broken Places
    by Allison Pataki
    Ernest Hemingway wrote that we are "strong at the broken places," and Allison Pataki found that to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes was read and reviewed by 22 BookBrowse members for First ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Twelve-Mile Straight by Eleanor Henderson

An audacious American epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Summer Wives
    by Beatriz Williams

    An electrifying postwar fable of love, class, power and redemption set on an island off the New England coast.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Clock Dance
    by Anne Tyler

    A delightful novel of one woman's transformative journey, from the best-selling and Pulitzer Prize-winning writer.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win A Place for Us

A Place For Us

A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H, W H A Problem

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.