Elizabeth McGregor biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Elizabeth McGregor
Photo Credit: Steve Pallant

Elizabeth McGregor

Elizabeth McGregor Biography

With over one hundred stories and serials published in the UK and overseas, Elizabeth McGregor is a seasoned and well-reviewed English author who made her American debut with The Ice Child, an epic novel that journey's into the heart of the Arctic. By delving into the historical intrigue of Sir John Franklin's infamous adventure, McGregor ventured in a new direction, departing the psychological thrillers that have been her mainstay.

In previous incarnations, McGregor worked as "a hopelessly bored but solvent civil servant, a happy but frequently overdrawn teacher, and an utterly ineffective and very nearly bankrupt antiques dealer." She has also written several scripts for television. She is married with one daughter and lives in the Blackmore Vale in Dorset.

She also writes under the names, Elizabeth Cook and Holly Fox.

This biography was last updated on 07/03/2016.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Elizabeth McGregor, author of The Ice Child

What first got you interested in writing fiction?
I always loved books. They held such glamour and excitement--and a kind of special secrecy--for me, I wanted to be part of that. Opening a book is like opening someone's front door. I wanted to invite people into my life. I once heard an author described as "being loved by people she had never met". I thought that was incredible.

Did you base any of this novel on your own life experiences?
A whole series of personal changes set The Ice Child in motion. I had already decided that I wanted to write a different kind of book to the psychological thrillers that had gone before. Then, in the two months before I began to write, events took a more serious turn. My marriage ended, I had to move house, and my mother became ill very suddenly, and died.

So this theme of getting through the dark, on an unmapped route--like the ones travelled by both Augustus and Sam in The Ice Child--was also a very personal journey for me.

What got you interested in Sir John Franklin's expedition?
The setting was what first intrigued me. I was fascinated by the last few remaining wildernesses...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Elizabeth McGregor at BookBrowse
The Girl in the Green Glass Mirror jacket The Ice Child jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Elizabeth McGregor but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    Leonard Guttridge

    Known as Len to his friends, Leonard Francis Guttridge was born on August 27, 1918 in Bournemouth, England. He died June 7, 2009.

    In his 90 years, Leonard packed many roles into an eventful life. During World War II, at ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Ice Child

    Try:
    The Ghosts of Cape Sabine
    by Leonard Guttridge

  • Lucy Jago

    Lucy Jago

    Lucy Jago is an author and a contributor to magazines and several national newspapers. Before writing full-time, Lucy produced and directed history, arts and social documentaries for the BBC and Channel 4.

    Jago graduated from... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Ice Child

    Try:
    The Northern Lights
    by Lucy Jago

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.