Sarah Stonich biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich Biography

Sarah Stonich started writing relatively late, in her thirties. She has been awarded a Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowship and a Loft McKnight Fellowship, among others. Her first novel, These Granite Islands, was a critical success, translated into six languages and short-listed for France's prestigious Grand Prix de lectrices d'Elle. She has also been artist-in-residence at numerous programs here and abroad. While at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre in Ireland, she began the The Ice Chorus (2005). Sarah was also a Drue Heinz Fellow at Hawthornden Castle, Scotland, where she began work on Vacationland (2013)

Shelter was released in 2011, which Sarah describes as "... essays surrounding my return to Northern Minnesota and my collaboration with an artisan builder to create a Scandinavian homestead. Shelter is also a chronicle of early immigrants to the region, particularly the Finns, who were being conscripted and jailed in their own country. Lastly, Shelter describes how one of the countries last great wilderness areas, the BWCAW, came to be preserved. The border country is a place where my immigrant grandparents once thrived, though now my family name is fading from memory - I am the only Stonich to return with any permanence in mind, in hopes to mend that fraying legacy, at least for my son and future generations that might find their own shelter there." Sarah Stonich has been writer-in-residence at The Ragdale Foundation in Lake Forest, IL; Centrum, Port Townsend, WA; Gibraltar Point, Toronto; and ART OMI International Writers Residency at Ledig House, NY. Of such residencies Sarah says: "The concentrated bouts of time are invaluable - not only for the opportunity to work, but for the chance to meet others . Writing is so solitary - it's vital to meet and discuss the life with writers; to exchange work, to bounce ideas, to commiserate, and to be inspired and supported."

Sarah regularly participates in literary seminars, conferences, library events, and, alumni functions for various universities, such as branches of AAUW. In 2005 she moderated discussions at the Irish Writers' Festival in Aspen in televised panels featuring Edna O'Brien, Jamie O'Neill, Colum McCann, Nuala O'Faolin and others. Irish traditions of storytelling have been most inspiring and illuminating to her career, the literature that's had the most impact on her as a writer.

Her most recent work include, a collection of stories, Vacationland came out in 2013.

Sarah lives in Minneapolis with her husband, Jon.

Sarah Stonich's website

This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sarah Stonich at BookBrowse
These Granite Islands jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sarah Stonich but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio was born in Maine in 1974. Her novel, Garner, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award for First Fiction. She also received the National Book Foundation's "5 Under 35" Award. Her short stories have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    Garner
    by Kirstin Allio

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: We Set the Dark on Fire
    We Set the Dark on Fire
    by Tehlor Mejia
    On the island of Medio, a wall separates the wealthy elite from those less fortunate who lack the ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Leopard, Red Wolf
    Black Leopard, Red Wolf
    by Marlon James
    If you are looking for an indulgent, escapist fantasy, Black Leopard, Red Wolf may not be for you. ...
  • Book Jacket: That Time I Loved You
    That Time I Loved You
    by Carianne Leung
    Carrianne Leung was a Toronto Book Award finalist for That Time I Loved You as well as for her debut...
  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Aeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    My Lovely Wife
    by Samantha Downing

    Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this wildly compulsive debut thriller.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Year of the War
    by Susan Meissner

    A little-known story of WWII with great resonance for our times.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.