Sarah Stonich biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich Biography

Sarah Stonich started writing relatively late, in her thirties. She has been awarded a Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowship and a Loft McKnight Fellowship, among others. Her first novel, These Granite Islands, was a critical success, translated into six languages and short-listed for France's prestigious Grand Prix de lectrices d'Elle. She has also been artist-in-residence at numerous programs here and abroad. While at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre in Ireland, she began the The Ice Chorus (2005). Sarah was also a Drue Heinz Fellow at Hawthornden Castle, Scotland, where she began work on Vacationland (2013)

Shelter was released in 2011, which Sarah describes as "... essays surrounding my return to Northern Minnesota and my collaboration with an artisan builder to create a Scandinavian homestead. Shelter is also a chronicle of early immigrants to the region, particularly the Finns, who were being conscripted and jailed in their own country. Lastly, Shelter describes how one of the countries last great wilderness areas, the BWCAW, came to be preserved. The border country is a place where my immigrant grandparents once thrived, though now my family name is fading from memory - I am the only Stonich to return with any permanence in mind, in hopes to mend that fraying legacy, at least for my son and future generations that might find their own shelter there." Sarah Stonich has been writer-in-residence at The Ragdale Foundation in Lake Forest, IL; Centrum, Port Townsend, WA; Gibraltar Point, Toronto; and ART OMI International Writers Residency at Ledig House, NY. Of such residencies Sarah says: "The concentrated bouts of time are invaluable - not only for the opportunity to work, but for the chance to meet others . Writing is so solitary - it's vital to meet and discuss the life with writers; to exchange work, to bounce ideas, to commiserate, and to be inspired and supported."

Sarah regularly participates in literary seminars, conferences, library events, and, alumni functions for various universities, such as branches of AAUW. In 2005 she moderated discussions at the Irish Writers' Festival in Aspen in televised panels featuring Edna O'Brien, Jamie O'Neill, Colum McCann, Nuala O'Faolin and others. Irish traditions of storytelling have been most inspiring and illuminating to her career, the literature that's had the most impact on her as a writer.

Her most recent work include, a collection of stories, Vacationland came out in 2013.

Sarah lives in Minneapolis with her husband, Jon.

Link to Sarah's website

This biography was last updated on 07/03/2016.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sarah Stonich at BookBrowse
These Granite Islands jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sarah Stonich but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio was born in Maine in 1974. Her novel, Garner, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award for First Fiction. She also received the National Book Foundation's "5 Under 35" Award. Her short stories have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    Garner
    by Kirstin Allio

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Certain Age
    A Certain Age
    by Beatriz Williams
    Lovers of high-society gossip, there's a new set of players in town. A good 20 out of 23 of our...
  • Book Jacket: The Romanovs
    The Romanovs
    by Simon Sebag Montefiore
    The Romanovs chronicles the reigns of the 20 individuals who were considered members of that dynasty...
  • Book Jacket: Barkskins
    Barkskins
    by Annie Proulx
    Barkskins, by Annie Proulx, is not a book to read quickly. After a month of slow reading, I ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Falling
    by Jane Green

    "Readers who enjoy a love story with heart will adore this tale of homecoming and transformation." - LJ

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson

    "Starred Review. Sensitive, beautifully precise prose. Highly recommended." - PW

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!