Jerry Spinelli biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jerry Spinelli

Jerry Spinelli

How to pronounce Jerry Spinelli: je-ree (rhymes with ferry) spi-NEL-ee

Jerry Spinelli Biography

The noted novelist and children's author Jerry Spinelli, born on the 1st February, 1941 at Norristown in Pennsylvania, United States, is best known for his specialized novels intended towards readers in their early adolescence. His well-known books include his Space Station Seventh Grade (1982), the 1991 Newbery Medal winning Maniac Magee, the Newbery Honor-winning 1998 novel Wringer, the 2000 novel Stargirl and the the 2003 historical fiction novel Milkweed.

At the age of 16, Spinelli decided to be a writer, when his football team at high school conquered a tough opponent in a big game, young Jerry Spinelli composed a poem recognizing this achievement. To the surprise of Jerry Spinelli the poem was published the following day in the local newspaper. Spinelli started his professional writing career by attempting books for adults and not for children. However, these books were rejected by publishers and remained unpublished. Jerry Spinelli’s imagination flew one night when one of his six children ate fried chicken that was being saved for the following day. Spinelli described this event, and the description eventually turned in to the story line for his first published novel entitled Space Station Seventh Grade. Spinelli originally wanted it to be an adult novel but adult publishers rejected it since the central character was a 13 year old child and finally it became a famous children's book.

Spinelli’s 1984 novel Who Put That Hair in My Toothbrush? describes characters Megin & Greg who are inspired by his real life children Molly & Jeffrey. Next he created children's books Jason and Marceline published in 1986 which is the sequel to Space Station Seventh Grade. In 1988, Spinelli wrote Dump Days. In 1990 he wrote Maniac Magee which won the Newbery Medal in the subsequent year. The novel has been developed in to a tv movie. His other major works in 1991 were There's a Girl in My Hammerlock, Report to the Principal's Office & Fourth Grade Rats. In 1992, Spinelli worked on The Bathwater Gang Gets Down to Business, Who Ran My Underwear Up the Flagpole? & Do the Funky Pickle. Spinelli’s novel Stargirl has also been developed into a movie due for release in 2009. He has also published his autobiography by the title Knots in My Yo-Yo String in 1998. His 2007 novel Eggs outlines a relationship that develops between two children out of loneliness. Spinelli published Love, Stargirl the sequel to his previous bestseller in 2007 . This novel was published by Knopf Books and was followed by Smiles to Go in 2008.

Jerry Spinelli graduated in 1963 from Gettysburg College and completed his MA in 1964 from Johns Hopkins University. He is married Eileen Mesi in 1977 and together they have six children. Jerry served in the United States Navy Reserve between 1966 and 1972.

Jerry Spinelli's website

This bio was last updated on 04/18/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Jerry Spinelli about Loser

Where did you go to school? Was it anything like John W. Satterfield Elementary School or Monroe Middle School?
I attended Hartranft Elementary in Norristown, PA. It resembled Satterfield Elementary only in the broadest sense. I do remember one or two classmates who seemed to incite the others' disapproval. As I wrote the graduation chapter, I pictured the so-called "all-purpose room" where mine took place, but the resemblance ends there. The teachers in the story do not resemble my own, nor did we have a field day.

Are there any of your own school experiences that you used in the book? If so, could you tell us about one or two?
There probably are, but I can't remember any offhand. When I went looking for Zinkoff's experiences, I think I found them on the other side of my own coin. For example, Zinkoff is slow, I was fast (50 yard dash champion of Norristown grade schools); Zinkoff is awkward, I was athletic; Zinkoff gets one A, I got lots. If Zinkoff had been in my class, I probably would have thought he was a loser too. Despite the A's, I had a lot to learn.

After a difficult day at school, how did you make yourself feel better, or how do you ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jerry Spinelli at BookBrowse
Hokey Pokey jacket Smiles to Go jacket Love, Stargirl jacket Loser jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jerry Spinelli but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Sharon Creech

    Sharon Creech

    Sharon Creech is the author of the Newbery Medal winner Walk Two Moons and the Newbery Honor Book The Wanderer. Her other work includes the novels Hate That Cat, The Castle Corona, Replay, Heartbeat, Granny Torrelli Makes ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Stargirl

    Try:
    Walk Two Moons
    by Sharon Creech

  • Sharon M. Draper

    Sharon M. Draper

    Sharon Mills Draper (Mills was her maiden name) is a two-time Coretta Scott King Award-winning author for Copper Sun, and Forged by Fire. She's also the recipient of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Author Award for New ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Stargirl

    Try:
    Out of My Mind
    by Sharon M. Draper

We recommend 19 similar authors

View all 19 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.