Tom Wolfe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tom Wolfe
Photo: Mark Seliger

Tom Wolfe

Tom Wolfe Biography

Tom Wolfe was born on March 2, 1931 in Richmond, VA. He was editor of his high school newspaper and sports editor of his college newspaper. His college professor of American Studies, Marshall Fishwick, stressed looking at the entirety of a culture including its profane aspects. Wolfe's books show how much he took this to heart.

After taking a doctorate in American Studies at Yale, he began his working life as a reporter, working for both The Washington Post and the New York Herald Tribune. One of his first feature articles appeared in Esquire magazine. Covering the hot rod and custom car culture of southern California, it was included in and became the title of his first book, The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby. Its appearance in 1965 established Wolfe as a leading writer in what was called the New Journalism. Along with Truman Capote, Hunter S Thompson, Norman Mailer, Joan Didion, and others, he combined straight reporting with literary techniques, creating a style which is now known as creative non-fiction, found in books covering science, history, memoir, biography and current events.

Some of Wolfe's now signature elements already appeared in "Kandy- Kolored". It was originally titled "There Goes (Varoom! Varoom!) That Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby," making it Wolfe's first writing to include sound effects. His fascination with the female form was also evident: "Then you notice that all the girls are dressed exactly alike. They have bouffant hairdos - all of them - and slacks that are, well, skin-tight does not get the idea across; it's more the conformation than how tight the slacks are. It's as if some lecherous old tailor with a gluteus-maximus fixation designed them, striation by striation."

Wolfe published 11 volumes of non-fiction between 1965 and 1982, possibly the most well known being The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test in 1968. Though he claims never to have ingested LSD, he captured the California psychedelic scene, the escapades of Ken Kesey and his Merry Pranksters, their Day-Glo bus and Acid Tests, as well as the response of the "straight" world to such goings-on. Kesey's phrase, "Either you're on the bus or you're off the bus," became common currency among hippies. "The current fantasy" is still used amongst my friends to describe what is going on in the moment. The book itself is evidence that Wolfe had begun to hit his stride with a dense, manic style of maximum reportage.

By the time he began writing fiction, Wolfe was practically a story generating machine. In The Bonfire of the Vanities, his highly acclaimed and bestselling novel of 1987, he unveiled the magic formula: The Scene - New York City. The Conflict - nouveau riche junk bond salesman vs criminals of all skin colors and nationalities from the slums. The Themes - ambition, social class, racism, politics, and greed. The Characters - a WASP, a Jew, a journalist, and a Black Activist Reverend. The Women - over-dieted, over exercised, social "Xrays" or voluptuous, sexy broads. This formula, and these themes, would appear over and over again in Wolfe's work.

In 1989, two years after the publication of his first novel, Tom Wolfe's essay "Stalking the Billion-Footed Beast" was published in Harper's Magazine. In it he made an impassioned plea for a return to the realistic novel, defined as fiction that demonstrates the influence of society on the personal life of the individual. His novels are examples of the realistic novel as he sees it, moving through four decades of American life.

Copyright BookBrowse. All rights reserved.

Tom Wolfe's website

This bio was last updated on 11/12/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Wolfe at BookBrowse
Back to Blood jacket Hooking Up jacket A Man In Full jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Wolfe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Randy Cohen

    Randy Cohen

    Randy Cohen has written humor articles, essays and stories for numerous newspapers and magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper's and The Atlantic. He's won five Emmy awards for his writing on such shows as Late Night With... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hooking Up

    Try:
    The Good, The Bad and The Difference
    by Randy Cohen

  • Hari Kunzru

    Hari Kunzru

    Hari Kunzru is the author of the novels The Impressionist (2002), Transmission (2004), My Revolutions (2007) and Gods Without Men (2011) as well as the novella Memory Palace (2013) and a short story collection, Noise (2006). ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Back to Blood

    Try:
    Gods Without Men
    by Hari Kunzru

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

The only real blind person at Christmas-time is he who has not Christmas in his heart.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.