Tom Wolfe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tom Wolfe
Photo: Mark Seliger

Tom Wolfe

Tom Wolfe Biography

Tom Wolfe was born on March 2, 1931 in Richmond, VA. He was editor of his high school newspaper and sports editor of his college newspaper. His college professor of American Studies, Marshall Fishwick, stressed looking at the entirety of a culture including its profane aspects. Wolfe's books show how much he took this to heart.

After taking a doctorate in American Studies at Yale, he began his working life as a reporter, working for both The Washington Post and the New York Herald Tribune. One of his first feature articles appeared in Esquire magazine. Covering the hot rod and custom car culture of southern California, it was included in and became the title of his first book, The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby. Its appearance in 1965 established Wolfe as a leading writer in what was called the New Journalism. Along with Truman Capote, Hunter S Thompson, Norman Mailer, Joan Didion, and others, he combined straight reporting with literary techniques, creating a style which is now known as creative non-fiction, found in books covering science, history, memoir, biography and current events.

Some of Wolfe's now signature elements already appeared in "Kandy- Kolored". It was originally titled "There Goes (Varoom! Varoom!) That Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby," making it Wolfe's first writing to include sound effects. His fascination with the female form was also evident: "Then you notice that all the girls are dressed exactly alike. They have bouffant hairdos - all of them - and slacks that are, well, skin-tight does not get the idea across; it's more the conformation than how tight the slacks are. It's as if some lecherous old tailor with a gluteus-maximus fixation designed them, striation by striation."

Wolfe published 11 volumes of non-fiction between 1965 and 1982, possibly the most well known being The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test in 1968. Though he claims never to have ingested LSD, he captured the California psychedelic scene, the escapades of Ken Kesey and his Merry Pranksters, their Day-Glo bus and Acid Tests, as well as the response of the "straight" world to such goings-on. Kesey's phrase, "Either you're on the bus or you're off the bus," became common currency among hippies. "The current fantasy" is still used amongst my friends to describe what is going on in the moment. The book itself is evidence that Wolfe had begun to hit his stride with a dense, manic style of maximum reportage.

By the time he began writing fiction, Wolfe was practically a story generating machine. In The Bonfire of the Vanities, his highly acclaimed and bestselling novel of 1987, he unveiled the magic formula: The Scene - New York City. The Conflict - nouveau riche junk bond salesman vs criminals of all skin colors and nationalities from the slums. The Themes - ambition, social class, racism, politics, and greed. The Characters - a WASP, a Jew, a journalist, and a Black Activist Reverend. The Women - over-dieted, over exercised, social "Xrays" or voluptuous, sexy broads. This formula, and these themes, would appear over and over again in Wolfe's work.

In 1989, two years after the publication of his first novel, Tom Wolfe's essay "Stalking the Billion-Footed Beast" was published in Harper's Magazine. In it he made an impassioned plea for a return to the realistic novel, defined as fiction that demonstrates the influence of society on the personal life of the individual. His novels are examples of the realistic novel as he sees it, moving through four decades of American life.

Copyright BookBrowse. All rights reserved.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 11/12/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Wolfe at BookBrowse
Back to Blood jacket Hooking Up jacket A Man In Full jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Wolfe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Randy Cohen

    Randy Cohen

    Randy Cohen has written humor articles, essays and stories for numerous newspapers and magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper's and The Atlantic. He's won five Emmy awards for his writing on such shows as Late Night With... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hooking Up

    Try:
    The Good, The Bad and The Difference
    by Randy Cohen

  • Hari Kunzru

    Hari Kunzru

    Hari Kunzru is the author of the novels The Impressionist, Transmission and My Revolutions, as well as a short story collection, Noise. His work has been translated into twenty-one languages and won him prizes including the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Back to Blood

    Try:
    Gods Without Men
    by Hari Kunzru

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.