John Le Carre biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

John Le Carre
Author photograph by Simone Casetta

John Le Carre

How to pronounce John Le Carre: jon L-KAR-ay

John Le Carre Biography

John Le Carré is the pen name of David Cornwell. Cornwell was born in Poole, Dorset (in the South-West of England) in 1931. His father, Ronnie, made and lost his fortune a number of times due to elaborate confidence tricks and schemes which landed him in prison on at least one occasion. This, according to Cornwell, was one of the factors that led to his fascination with secrets. His father was also the inspiration for the lead character in The Honourable Schoolboy (1977).

Cornwell's mother left home when he was five or six years old - he did not see her again until he was 21.

He attended Sherborne School - a British boarding school, but was unhappy and dropped out at the age of 16. For a little under a year (in 1948-1949) he studied German at the University of Berne in Switzerland; he then did his military service in Austria.

It seems that it was while he was in Switzerland that his fascination with espionage began - the story goes that it was triggered by a meeting with a British diplomat who may or may not have been in intelligence. In 1952 Cornwell continued his education at Lincoln College, Oxford, studying modern languages. He had to leave in 1954 when his father went bankrupt. He took a job teaching at a boy's prep school (the term prep school in England usually refers to a school for children aged approximately 8-12). However, he was able to return to Oxford a year later and graduated with first class honors in 1956. After spending two years teaching French and German at Eton (a boy's boarding school for ages 13-18) he joined the Foreign Service and within three years was posted to Bonn, West Germany as the second secretary to the British embassy.

He started his first novel, Call For The Dead, while employed in the operational section of MI5. He was encouraged in this endeavor by Lord Clanmorris (who himself wrote crime novels under the pen-name of John Bingham). Lord Clanmorris was one of the two men who inspired le Carré's most famous character - George Smiley; history doesn't appear to relate who the second person was.

He moved from M15 to M16 and was posted in Berlin at the time the Wall was erected. The Call of The Dead was published in 1961 and was lauded by Graham Greene who said it was the best spy story he had ever read. It also introduced the character of George Smiley.

Cornwell chose to write under a pseudonym because it was not acceptable for members of the Foreign office to publish under their own names.

For his second book he took a completely different tack and wrote a murder mystery set in a boy's school (with George Smiley in the role of investigator) - A Murder of Quality was published in 1962.

He returned to espionage for his third novel The Spy Who Came In From The Cold (1963), and following its success he was able to take up writing full time. It is the story of Alex Leamas, a frustrated British agent, who was the total antithesis of Ian Fleming's fast driving, womanizing James Bond - Fleming being the leading writer of spy stories at that time. In 1964 he won the Somerset Maugham Award.

His next book was The Looking Glass War (1965), followed by A Small Town In Germany (1968). In 1971 he wrote The Naive and Sentimental Lover, followed by Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy (1974) - which reintroduced George Smiley. This was followed by The Honourable Schoolboy (1977) and Smiley's People (1979); these three books are often known as the Karla trilogy for the Soviet spymaster, Karla, who features prominently in the books.

In 1983 he wrote The Little Drummer Girl which explored the cause of Palestinian liberation. This was followed by A Perfect Spy in 1986 and The Russia House in 1989.

These were followed by The Secret Pigrim (1991), The Night Manager (1993), Our Game (1995), The Tailor of Panama (1996), Secret & Secret (USA title: Single & Single) (1999), The Constant Gardener (2001) and Absolute Friends (2003), The Mission Song (2006), A Most Wanted Man (2008), Our Kind of Traitor (2010), A Delicate Truth (2013), Afterword (2014).

Le Carré has been married twice. First to Ann Martin in the 1950s; and the second time to Valerie in 1972. He has four children, 3 from his first marriage - Simon, Stephen, Timothy; and Nicholas. He lives with his wife, Valerie, in Cornwall, England.

Copyright BookBrowse.com 2014

John Le Carre's website

This bio was last updated on 10/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John Le Carre at BookBrowse
A Delicate Truth jacket Our Kind of Traitor jacket A Most Wanted Man jacket The Mission Song jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John Le Carre but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Altman

    John Altman

    John Altman is a musician and freelance writer living in New York City. A graduate of Harvard, he comes from an extended family of writers, including the novelists Karen Bender, Aimee Bender, and Robert Anthony Siegel.

    In... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Constant Gardener

    Try:
    A Gathering of Spies
    by John Altman

  • William Brodrick

    William Brodrick

    William Brodrick, in a career change that reverses that of his character Father Anselm's, was an Augustinian friar before leaving in order to become a practicing barrister. His novels include The Sixth Lamentation, The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Absolute Friends

    Try:
    The 6th Lamentation
    by William Brodrick

We recommend 27 similar authors

View all 27 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.