Dean Koontz biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dean Koontz
deankoontz.com

Dean Koontz

Dean Koontz Biography

Dean Ray Koontz is an American author. His novels are broadly described as suspense thrillers, but also frequently incorporate elements of horror, fantasy, science fiction, mystery, and satire. Several of his books have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List, with many of them reaching the number one position. Koontz wrote under a number of pen names earlier in his career, including "David Axton", "Leigh Nichols" and "Brian Coffey".

When he was a senior in college, Dean Koontz won an Atlantic Monthly fiction competition and has been writing ever since. His books are published in 38 languages and he has sold over 450 million copies to date.

Dean Koontz lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, their golden retriever, Anna, and the enduring spirit of their golden, Trixie.

Dean Koontz's website

This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Dean Koontz discusses The Book of Counted Sorrows, a totally new kind of book for his readers, both in its content and format.

First published at BN.com and reproduced with the permission of Barnes & Noble.

You left two poems out of your reproduction of The Book of Counted Sorrows as a kind gesture to the reader so that we don't turn to butter or explode. How did you decide which poems to leave out?
As you know, all men and some women who read every poem in this book meet sudden, strange, explosive ends shortly after completing the tome. A few courageous, treasured, highly esteemed employees here at the Koontz manor--whose exquisite good taste I trusted and admired, whose taste in fact I would like to see adopted by our entire society through the use of armed force if necessary--read all the poems. Then, quickly, before either of their heads exploded or they convulsively spun themselves into butter, each shouted out the titles of two poems he thought should be excised to protect the public. I made my decision based on these people's heroic efforts. Their sacrifices will never be forgotten: We have erected lavish monuments to them here on the vast Koontz estate, so lavish as to require building permits from NASA, which was afraid that the uppermost portions of the spires might interfere with shuttle flights, and their ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dean Koontz at BookBrowse
The City jacket What the Night Knows jacket Odd Is on Our Side jacket Frankenstein: Lost Souls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dean Koontz but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lincoln Child

    Lincoln Child

    Lincoln Child is the New York Times bestselling author of The Forgotten Room, The Third Gate, Terminal Freeze, Deep Storm, Death Match, and Utopia, as well as coauthor, with Douglas Preston, of numerous New York Times ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    False Memory

    Try:
    Brimstone
    by Lincoln Child

  • Michael Crichton

    Michael Crichton

    Writer and filmmaker, Michael Crichton (Oct 23, 1942 - Nov 4, 2008), best known as the author of Jurassic Park and the creator of ER, was born in Chicago and grew up on Long Island, New York. 

    Apparently, his ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Seize The Night

    Try:
    Timeline
    by Michael Crichton

We recommend 15 similar authors

View all 15 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: Bitch
    Bitch
    by Lucy Cooke
    In middle school biology class, many of us were told that men hunt and women nest, that testosterone...
  • Book Jacket: Jackie & Me
    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard
    Louis Bayard's Jackie & Me offers a fictionalized version of the early relationship between John F. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Facemaker
    The Facemaker
    by Lindsey Fitzharris
    The summer of 1914 saw the beginning of World War I, the bloody conflict known as the 'war to end ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Widowland
    by C. J. Carey

    A thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternate 1950s Britain under the control of the Third Reich.

  • Book Jacket

    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer

    A psychic on the verge of stardom and a cynical journalist are brought together by secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

Who Said...

Not doing more than the average is what keeps the average down.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.