Janice Graham biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Janice Graham

Janice Graham

Janice Graham Biography

Janice Graham was raised in Kansas and obtained her M.A. in French literature before pursuing graduate film studies at USC and English literature at UCLA in Los Angeles, California. Her screenplay Until September, a romantic comedy situated in Paris, was picked up by MGM and made into a film starring Karen Allen and Thierry Lhermitte. Her first novel, Firebird, became a New York Times and international bestseller.

After a series of contemporary women's fiction, she turned to historical fiction. Romancing Miss Bronte, written as Juliet Gael, is her novel about Charlotte Brontë. She's currently working on a novel about Mary Shelley and preparing to launch eBook editions of her early novels. After twenty years in Paris, Athens, Jerusalem, and a few other places in between, she now lives in Florence, Italy.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 05/28/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

You have traveled extensively, living and working in Paris, Greece and Israel. What were you doing while you were living abroad?

I was divorced in 1972 after a four year marriage and since I had just finished my M.A. in French and been to France on a fellowship, I decided to move to Paris. I lived there for four years working at a variety of jobs-from sales to tour guide to assistant to the CEO of an investment banking firm. In 1976, I embarked on a journey to travel around the world (I never got farther than the Middle East.) I saved up some money and I took off with a friend. Our first stop was Athens, where I spent too much money, so I got a job at UPI and ended up staying there for six months. Our next stop was Turkey and then on to Israel, where I worked on a kibbutz for six months. By that time I had been gone for a year and I felt as though I needed a focus. It was in Jerusalem that I got the direction I was looking for-I ran into a professor from the University of Kansas, where I had gotten my masters degree. He knew I was interested in film and he encouraged me to return to graduate school. My next stop was Los Angeles, where I attended film school and instantly knew that that was what I wanted to do. I ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Janice Graham at BookBrowse
The Tailor's Daughter jacket Firebird jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Janice Graham but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Barbara Delinsky

    Barbara Delinsky

    Says Barbara Delnsky: "I was born and raised in suburban Boston. My mother's death, when I was eight, was the defining event of a childhood that was otherwise ordinary. I took piano lessons and flute lessons. I took ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firebird

    Try:
    Lake News
    by Barbara Delinsky

  • Kristin Hannah

    Kristin Hannah

    In her own words...

    I was born in September 1960 in Southern California and grew up at the beach, making sand castles and playing in the surf.   When I was eight years old, my father drove us to Western ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firebird

    Try:
    Home Front
    by Kristin Hannah

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.