Muriel Mharie Macleod biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Muriel Mharie Macleod

Muriel Mharie Macleod

Muriel Mharie Macleod Biography

Muriel Mharie Macleod was born in the Western Isles of Scotland in 1951. She moved to Chelsea during the 1960s and spent time on an ashram in India in the 1970s before marrying a Trinidadian and moving to Port of Spain, Trinidad, where she ran a soup kitchen for the homeless. She returned to the UK as a single mother of two. She has enjoyed a long career as an artist and animation film producer. In 2003 she was invited to oversee development of the association for Fulbright Scholars in the UK. As a Director of the association, she arranged lectures and debates involving senior political figures. She has traveled extensively in the US. Muriel is now based in the UK.



This bio was last updated on 08/31/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Q&A with Muriel Mharie Macleod whose debut novel tells the story of a missing child, a buried tin of coins, and a terrible secret, set deep in the back country of early-20th-century Louisiana.

Arletta, the young, black narrator of What the River Washed Away, is a strong, authentic voice. Readers may be especially surprised to learn that you are a mature white British writer. How did you discover Arletta's voice and how did you go about developing such strong narrative authenticity?
I began writing the novel in the first person from the start, and to a large extent I felt it was writing itself. (Many authors say that and I now know what they mean). Arletta's voice was strong for me and I wanted people to feel deeply for her, to be moved by her circumstances. When I "heard" her speak in my mind, her narrative drove me and the writing forward, which led me very early on to the issues of civil rights and one woman's story in that wider social context.

I have worked with Americans most of my life, in fact at Fulbright here in the UK, everyone was from the US except for two of us. Strangely, when I would ask two people how they would say "such and such," quite often I'd receive two different answers! "Burlap"...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Muriel Mharie Macleod at BookBrowse
What the River Washed Away jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Muriel Mharie Macleod but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hunger
    Hunger
    by Roxane Gay
    In this penetrating and fearless memoir, author Roxane Gay discusses her battle with body acceptance...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Witch
    The Black Witch
    by Laurie Forest
    In The Black Witch, Laurie Forest introduces her readers to an immersive fantasy world where ...
  • Book Jacket: See What I Have Done
    See What I Have Done
    by Sarah Schmidt
    Sarah Schmidt's historical fictionalization of the Lizzie Borden story is a tsunami. From the ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt

Cruel Beautiful World examines the intricate, infinitesimal distance between seduction and love, loyalty and duty.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Young Jane Young
    by Gabrielle Zevin

    From the author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes a novel that will have everyone talking.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Hame

Hame by Annalena McAfee

A rich, sultry novel about a young American fleeing a crumbling marriage for a remote Scottish island.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A F Out O W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.