MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Howard C. Cutler, M.D. biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Howard C. Cutler, M.D.
theartofhappiness.com

Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

Howard C. Cutler, M.D. Biography

Howard C. Cutler is an American writer and psychiatrist who practices in Phoenix, Arizona.

He co-wrote The Art of Happiness with the 14th Dalai Lama. It was on The New York Times Best Seller list for 97 weeks. The psychologist and Tibetan spiritual leader duo went on to write two more books together, The Art of Happiness at Work and The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World. Their books have been translated into 50 languages.

He first met the Dalai Lama in 1982 while visiting India on a research grant to study Tibetan medicine. Dr. Cutler maintains a private psychiatric practice in Phoenix.



This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

Howard Cutler, co-author of The Art of Happiness talks about how his experience working with the Dalai Lama, whether happiness is an reasonable goal for all of us and what people can do to overcome their everyday bad moods.

Q: How did you come to know the Dalai Lama?

HC: In 1981, I received a small research grant from the University of Arizona College of Medicine to travel to Dharamsala, India to study the traditional Tibetan system of medicine. At that time, the Dalai Lama's late elder brother, Lobsang Samden, was director of the Tibetan Medical Institute, and it was through Lobsang that my first meeting with the Dalai Lama was arranged. Over the years since then, I've attended many of the Dalai Lama's public talks, arranged private audiences with him in India and during his visits to the U.S. whenever possible, and, acting as one of his hosts, had an opportunity to meet with him daily during a visit to Arizona in 1993.


Q: What inspired you to write The Art of Happiness?

HC: The Dalai Lama has always struck me as being a genuinely happy person, despite the tragic situation in Tibet, his personal losses, and the burden of many heavy responsibilities. I was curious to learn about his personal approach to living and the principles and practices that had enabled him to achieve this state of contentment. While I was aware that his attitudes had

been shaped largely as a result of his training as a Buddhist monk, and he had ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Howard C. Cutler, M.D. at BookBrowse
The Art of Happiness at Work jacket Ethics For The New Millennium jacket The Art of Happiness jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Howard C. Cutler, M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...
  • Book Jacket: The Mercies
    The Mercies
    by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    It's 1617 and a violent storm has claimed the lives of 40 fishermen off the coast of Vardø, a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree
    by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
    Ya Ta, the main character in Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani's novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    I Want You to Know We're Still Here
    by Esther Safran Foer

    "A vivid testimony to the power of memory."
    - Kirkus (starred review)
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Things They Carried
by Tim O'Brien

The classic, ground-breaking meditation on war and the redemptive power of storytelling.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.