Thomas J. Stanley biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley Biography

Thomas J. Stanley was the researcher, advisor, and author of several highly regarded, award winning books on America's wealthy population including The Millionaire Next Door and The Millionaire Mind. These books spent more than 170 weeks combined on the New York Times' Best Sellers list. His Millionaire Women Next Door was selected as a finalist for the business book of the year by the Independent Publishers Association and was on several business best sellers lists. Dr. Stanley's first three books, Marketing to the Affluent, Selling to the Affluent, and Networking with the Affluent and Their Advisors, were all designated as outstanding business books. In total, more than three million copies of Dr. Stanley's books have been sold worldwide.

Dr. Stanley has authored more than 40 published articles which deal with the affluent in America. His most significant, ground breaking articles include: "America's Affluent," American Demographics; "How to Live Like a Millionaire," Reader's Digest; and "The Doctor who Manages his Own Investments Has a Fool for a Client," Medical Economics.

Dr. Stanley has also published numerous articles on the topic of marketing professional services to the affluent, including: "Ways to Add Value for Clients," Journal of Accountancy; "How to Network with Affluent Client Prospects," Marketing for Lawyers; "Marketing Trust Services to the Affluent," Trust and Estates; and "Investment Management and the Affluent Customer," The Bankers Magazine.

Dr. Stanley has appeared as a featured guest numerous times on The Today Show, 20/20, and The Oprah Winfrey Show. His work has been cited in the national media, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Forbes, Fortune, Time, Money Magazine, U.S. News and World Report, and USA Today.

In 1979 Dr. Stanley first conceptualized "The Wealthy Blue Collar" segment, a precursor to the millionaire next door typology, in a speech given on behalf of The New York Stock Exchange, later published by the American Marketing Association. In 1980 Dr. Stanley conducted a national survey of America's multimillionaires- the first ever of its kind. Since that time he conducted numerous studies of the affluent and focus group interviews with high net worth respondents for a majority of the top 50 financial institutions in America. Dr. Stanley served as a top-rated main platform speaker for The American Bankers Association, Society of Certified Public Accountants, the Securities Industry Association, The International Association of Financial Planners, The Association of Estate Planners, and the Million Dollar Round Table.

Dr. Stanley is also chairman of the Affluent Market Institute through which he has developed research based marketing and selling strategies for identifying, attracting and retaining wealthy clients.

Dr. Stanley received his doctorate in business administration from The University of Georgia. He was a university professor for 20 years, leaving to pursue a career in research and writing about America's millionaires. At Georgia State University he was named Omicron Delta Kappa's Outstanding Professor.

He died in March 2015 aged 71

Thomas Stanley's website

This bio was last updated on 03/03/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Thomas J. Stanley at BookBrowse
The Millionaire Next Door jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Thomas J. Stanley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng is a Chinese immigrant who traveled alone to this country at age 17. Fortune in Your Cookies; Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating is her only book. It weaves together many of her life's passions (food ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Fortune In Your Cookies
    by Meena Cheng

  • Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad Poor Dad - the international runaway bestseller that has held a top spot on the New York Times bestsellers list for over six years - is an investor, entrepreneur and educator. Born and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Rich Dad, Poor Dad
    by Robert Kiyosaki

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Hermit
    by Thomas Rydahl
    If you can be comfortable with Scandinavian noir played out against the sun-drenched backdrop of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Radium Girls
    The Radium Girls
    by Kate Moore
    In 1915, Austrian-born Sabin von Sochocky developed a luminescent paint that used radium to create a...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Gypsy Moth Summer
    by Julia Fierro

    One of the most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.