Vincent Lam biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Vincent Lam

Vincent Lam

Vincent Lam Biography

Dr. Vincent Lam was born in London, Ontario. His family emigrated from Vietnam during the Vietnam War and he grew up in Ottawa speaking Cantonese at home.  He did his medical training in Toronto, where he now lives and works as an emergency physician.  He also does international air evacuation work and expedition medicine on Arctic and Antarctic ships.  Now aged 32 but so young looking that he claims he sometimes still gets carded, he is married and has a son named Theodore. 

Lam made his first attempt to write at about the age of 16 having read and reread Ernest Hemingway's Nick Adams Stories, which he describes as "perfect".  Due to the pressures of medical school and training, he did not return to writing until he had fully qualified as a doctor. Having accumulated a pile of rejection slips from literary magazines, he took a writing course at the University of Toronto and joined a writing group.  He also enrolled in a correspondence program offered by the Humber School for Writers. 

Around the same time he met Margaret Atwood and her partner Graham Gibson on board The Akademic Ioffe, a Russian scientific vessel leased to an Australian-based expedition company that takes nature-lovers to out of the way places such as the Arctic.  Lam was the ship's doctor.  After the voyage, he sent Atwood some of his stories.  Atwood was sufficiently impressed with what she read that she passed the manuscript to the publisher of Doubleday Canada.  The result is Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures, a series of interconnected short stories that won the 2006 Canadian Giller Prize, making Lam the youngest writer to have won the prize.  Shortly after publishing Bloodletting in Canada (Jan 2006), he published a nonfiction book with Colin Lee titled The Flu Pandemic and You (Sep 2006). 

Lam's first novel, The Headmaster's Wager (published in the USA in August 2012), which is set in the Chinese community of Saigon, tells of Percival Chen, a character we meet in "A Long Migration", one of the short stories in Bloodletting. Chen flees from the 1945 Japanese invasion of Hong Kong, makes a fortune as a headmaster of an English school in Saigon and loses it as a gambler during the Vietnam War. In 1998, he is dying from cancer in Brisbane, Australia, receiving occasional visits from his children and grandchildren scattered around the world. The story is somewhat based on Lam's own experience caring for his dying grandfather in Brisbane, who had been a respected schoolmaster, gambler and womanizer.

Vincent Lam's website

This bio was last updated on 10/24/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Vincent Lam talks about how people become a slightly different version of themselves in the process of becoming a doctor, and about his first book, Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures, which won the 2006 Giller Prize.

A Conversation with Dr. Vincent Lam author of Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

Which came first: your interest in medicine, or your interest in writing?

My first desire was to write. Since many of the writers whom I admired participated vigorously in the world, I thought that I should do likewise. Naively, I thought to pursue medicine because it seemed like an ideal forum for character study.

Very soon I realized that medicine is far too involved to undertake simply for the purpose of observing humanity. I saw that because it was so demanding, the only sensible way to learn and practice medicine is to be fully committed to it for its own sake. By this point, I had become drawn to it and wished very much to train and work as a doctor.

The training was so consuming that I wasn't able to write for years, not until I had finished my residency and had begun my practice as an emergency physician. By that point, it had also provided me with a few things to write about.


You’ve said in that you wanted to write about how people "become a slightly different version of themselves in the process of becoming a doctor." What do you mean by that, and why do you think it happens?

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Vincent Lam at BookBrowse
The Headmaster's Wager jacket Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Vincent Lam but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Chris Adrian

    Chris Adrian

    Chris Adrian was born in Washington, D.C. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, he received his MD from East Virginia Medical School. "Every Night for a Thousand Years", the New Yorker story from which this ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

    Try:
    A Better Angel
    by Chris Adrian

  • Tahmima Anam

    Tahmima Anam

    Tahmima Anam was born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1975 and grew up in Paris, New York and Bangkok, due to her father's career with UNESCO

    Tahmima Anam attended Harvard University, where she earned a Ph.D. in Social ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Headmaster's Wager

    Try:
    A Golden Age
    by Tahmima Anam

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.