Morton Meyers M.D. biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Morton Meyers M.D.

Morton Meyers M.D.

How to pronounce Morton Meyers M.D.: mor-ton my-ers

Morton Meyers M.D. Biography

Morton Meyers is emeritus professor and chairman of radiology and emeritus professor of internal medicine in the School of Medicine of the State University of New York (SUNY) at Stony Brook. He lives in East Setauket, NY.

Morton Meyers M.D.'s website

This bio was last updated on 08/06/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Q&A with Morton A Meyers about Happy Accidents: Serendipity in Modern Medical Breakthroughs, followed by some fun facts from the book


A Q & A with Morton A. Meyers, M.D.


Your view of the process of medical discovery may be considered controversial. How would you summarize it?

In my book Happy Accidents: Serendipity in Modern Medical Breakthroughs, I reveal that many of the major medical discoveries have occurred simply through chance—through a surprising, unexpected finding or observation that led research in a different direction, which resulted in a discovery of far greater value than the original goal.


What are major examples?

I describe about one hundred instances. But most people—scientists included—are astonished to realize that most of our antibiotics to combat infections, chemotherapy drugs against cancer, psychotropic drugs which modify mood disorders, and many advances in cardiovascular treatments and procedures were stumbled upon. So many of these chance discoveries, such as Valium, Lipitor, and Viagra, have become household names.


These fields cover much of modern medicine. Are these advances the results of specialized teams ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Morton Meyers M.D. at BookBrowse
Happy Accidents jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Morton Meyers M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Pope Brock

    Pope Brock

    Pope Brock is the author of the critically acclaimed Indiana Gothic, the story of his great-grandfather’s murder in 1908. Brock has written for numerous publications, including Rolling Stone, Esquire, GQ, and the London ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Happy Accidents

    Try:
    Charlatan
    by Pope Brock

  • Bill Bryson

    Bill Bryson

    Bill Bryson was born in Des Moines, Iowa. He moved to England, where he worked for The Times and The Independent, and wrote for many major British and American publications.

    Bill Bryson's bestselling books include A Walk... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Happy Accidents

    Try:
    A Short History of Nearly Everything
    by Bill Bryson

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley
    The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley
    by Hannah Tinti
    Hannah Tinti follows her spectacular 2008 debut, The Good Thief, with a novel of uncommon ...
  • Book Jacket: Music of the Ghosts
    Music of the Ghosts
    by Vaddey Ratner
    Music of the Ghosts is about healing and forgiveness, but it is also about identity and the revival ...
  • Book Jacket: Castle of Water
    Castle of Water
    by Dane Huckelbridge
    When a whopping 24 out of 27 readers give a book 4 or 5 stars, you know you have a winner on your ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Manderley Forever
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay pays homage to Daphne du Maurier.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Poetry is like fish...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -