Matt Beynon Rees biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Matt Beynon Rees

Matt Beynon Rees

Matt Beynon Rees Biography

Journalist and author Matt Beynon Rees was born in Wales in 1967 and studied at Oxford University and the University of Maryland. He then worked as a financial reporter in London, Washington D.C. and New York before becoming the first Middle East correspondent for The Scotsman in 1996. He speaks fluent Arabic and lives in Jerusalem.

As a journalist, he has covered the Middle East for over a decade, with the vast majority of that time spent among Palestinians and Israelis. He's a Contributor for Time based in Jerusalem, where he was the magazine's bureau chief from June 2000 until January 2006. In 2004 he published a nonfiction account of the divisions within Israeli and Palestinian societies called Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East.

His first detective novel, The Collaborator of Bethlehem, the first in a planned series of seven, was published in the U.S. in February 2007. The series has been sold to leading publishers in France, Italy, Britain, Poland, Spain, Germany, Israel, Portugal, and Brazil.

He has wanted to be a writer since he was nine years old and his schoolteacher pinned a story he wrote on the classroom wall. The first mystery he ever read was The Maltese Falcon; he says, "Hammett inspired me to take not just the character but the whole social context of the story. Having been a journalist [in Jerusalem] for the past 10 years, I don't have to wonder what Palestinians are like."

He is described as a dogged reporter, wide reader, old movie buff, and fitness enthusiast.


Bibliography:

Nonfiction:
Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East (2004)

Omar Yussef novels:
The Collaborator of Bethlehem (2007)
A Grave in Gaza (2008)
The Samaritan's Secret (2009)
The Fourth Assassin (2010)

Historical novels:
Mozart's Last Aria (2011)
A Name in Blood (2012)
The Ambassador (2015)

Dominic Verrazzano novels
The Damascus (2016)

Matt Beynon Rees's website

This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Matt Beynon Rees at BookBrowse
Mozart's Last Aria jacket The Fourth Assassin jacket The Samaritan's Secret jacket A Grave in Gaza jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Matt Beynon Rees but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Izzeldin Abuelaish

    Izzeldin Abuelaish

    Izzeldin Abuelaish, MD, MPH, is a Palestinian physician and infertility expert who was born and raised in the Jabalia refugee camp in the Gaza Strip. He received a scholarship to study medicine in Cairo, and then received a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Collaborator of Bethlehem

    Try:
    I Shall Not Hate
    by Izzeldin Abuelaish

  • Jimmy Carter

    Jimmy Carter

    Jimmy Carter was born in Plains, Georgia in 1924, and served as thirty-ninth President of the United States. He and his wife, Rosalynn, founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization that prevents and resolves conflicts,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Collaborator of Bethlehem

    Try:
    Palestine
    by Jimmy Carter

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Memories of the Future
    Memories of the Future
    by Siri Hustvedt
    I've never kept a journal, but my mother has written in hers for years, the annual volumes she's ...
  • Book Jacket: Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    by Rajeev Balasubramanyam
    Rajeev Balasubramanyam encapsulates the theme of Professor Chandra Follows his Bliss in its first ...
  • Book Jacket: The Workshop and the World
    The Workshop and the World
    by Robert P. Crease
    The longest glacier in France, the Mer de Glace, is losing roughly 12 feet of ice height each year. ...
  • Book Jacket: Instructions for a Funeral
    Instructions for a Funeral
    by David Means
    Following a venture into novels with Hystopia in 2016, Instructions for a Funeral is a return to ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    When We Left Cuba
    by Chanel Cleeton

    An exhilarating historical novel from the author of Next Year in Havana, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris

    The Comma Queen returns with a buoyant book about language, love, and the wine-dark sea.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win Ecstasy

Win copies to share with friends or your book club!

Ecstasy reveals the true Alma Mahler: composer, author, daughter, mother, wife, lover, and muse.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A B Penny A T U

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.