Judith Lindbergh biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Judith Lindbergh
Photo: Sigrid Estrada

Judith Lindbergh

Judith Lindbergh Biography

Judith Lindbergh was born in Worcester, Massachusetts. Her published work, ranging from travel and cultural pieces to short fiction and poetry, has appeared in numerous magazines and journals, including Archaeology Magazine, The World & I, Scandinavian Review, and the Canadian literary journal, Other Voices.

Also an accomplished photographer, Lindbergh's images of Greenland and Iceland have been exhibited at venues including The Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine and The Edward Hopper House. Several are included in Vikings: The North Atlantic Saga, published in conjunction with the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History's two-year traveling exhibition of the same name. Lindbergh also presented an excerpt from her first novel, The Thrall's Tale, as a special event at the Smithsonian.

Judith Lindbergh lives in New Jersey with her husband and two sons.

Judith Lindbergh's website

This bio was last updated on 04/04/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Judith Linberg talks about how she was drawn into the Viking world, and how Norse culture mythology and literature grew to pervade The Thrall's Tale.

There have been novels set in ancient Rome, Revolutionary America, the Civil War, the French Revolution, etc., but the idea of setting a novel in the Norse colony of Greenland is totally original. What inspired you to write The Thrall's Tale? Describe the germ of this undertaking.
It all happened rather by accident. I had no particular interest in the period, although history, archaeology, anthropology, and myth have always been at the very root of my inspiration and passion. I was with my husband in downtown Manhattan many years ago—well over a decade now. It was a cold, gray day, and we were just meandering when we noticed a crowd at the edge of the docks at South Street Seaport. We worked our way through and discovered three Viking ships moored there—full-scale replicas that had sailed from Norway to Iceland, Greenland, and Canada, then down the North American coast, following Leif Eiriksson’s journey of discovery over 1,000 years ago.

What first struck me was the size of the ships—barely bigger than oversized rowboats, and completely open to the wind and sea and waves. They seemed utterly vulnerable, an adjective I never would have thought to apply to the Viking culture. The second thing that caught ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Judith Lindbergh at BookBrowse
The Thrall's Tale jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Judith Lindbergh but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Anita Amirrezvani

    Anita Amirrezvani

    Anita Amirrezvani was born in Tehran, Iran, and raised in San Francisco. For ten years, she was a dance critic for newspapers in the Bay Area. She has received fellowships from the National Arts Journalism Program, the NEA's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Thrall's Tale

    Try:
    The Blood of Flowers
    by Anita Amirrezvani

  • Geraldine Brooks

    Geraldine Brooks

    Australian-born Geraldine Brooks is an author and journalist who grew up in the Western suburbs of Sydney, and attended Bethlehem College Ashfield and the University of Sydney. She worked as a reporter for The Sydney ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Thrall's Tale

    Try:
    Year of Wonders
    by Geraldine Brooks

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.