Marcus Sakey biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Marcus Sakey
Photo: Brett Carlson

Marcus Sakey

Marcus Sakey Biography

Marcus Sakey's thrillers have been nominated for more than fifteen awards, named New York Time's Editor's Picks, and selected among Esquire Magazine's Top 5 Books of The Year. His novel Good People was made into a movie starring James Franco and Kate Hudson, and his other books are in various stages of development for film.

Born in Flint, Michigan, he attended the University of Michigan before beginning a decade-long career in television and advertising.

His debut thriller The Blade Itself was sold at auction and published to wide critical acclaim, allowing him to work full-time as a writer.

Marcus was the host and writer of the acclaimed television show Hidden City on Travel Channel, for which he was routinely pepper-sprayed and attacked by dogs. He lives in Chicago with his wife and daughter.

Marcus Sakey's website

This bio was last updated on 04/04/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Marcus Sakey in which he talks about his first novel, The Blade Itself, beginnings, the publishing industry and the passions that drive us.

Acclaimed author David Morrell is the author of 28 books, including First Blood, the novel that introduced the world to John Rambo. With 18 million books in print, he’s considered one of the fathers of the modern thriller and is a co-founder of International Thriller Writers.

Morrell is also a friend and mentor to debut novelist (and diehard fan) Marcus Sakey, and recently interviewed him about beginnings, the publishing industry, and the passions that drive us.

My debut novel First Blood was published in 1972.  Because I set a version of the Vietnam War in the United States, it got attention, rare for a first book.  I'm pleased to see that your first novel The Blade Itself is getting its own wonderful buzz.  Excellent reviews.  Blurbs from fabulous, heavy-hitting writers like Lee Child, George Pelecanos, and T. Jefferson Parker.  You've been compared to Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.  But in fact, you don't imitate.  You're one of a kind.  What do you think makes your work distinctive?
Well, that’s very flattering, as is being compared to guys like Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, both of whom are literary heroes of mine.

I suppose one factor might be that while I ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marcus Sakey at BookBrowse
Brilliance jacket The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes jacket Good People jacket At the City's Edge jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marcus Sakey but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lee Child

    Lee Child

    Lee Child was born in the exact geographic center of England, in the heart of the industrial badlands. Never saw a tree until he was twelve. It was the sort of place where if you fell in the river, you had to go to the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Blade Itself

    Try:
    Bad Luck and Trouble
    by Lee Child

  • Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben

    Harlan Coben was born and raised in New Jersey.  After graduating from Amherst College as political science major, he worked in the travel industry. He now lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Blade Itself

    Try:
    The Innocent
    by Harlan Coben

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.