Carrie Kabak biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Carrie Kabak
Author photo © Mark Kabak

Carrie Kabak

Carrie Kabak Biography

Carrie Kabak is an author, illustrator and graphic designer. She is the author of an Independent Booksellers' Pick, Cover the Butter. Her essays appear in "For Keeps" and "He Said What?" (Seal Press), "Exit Laughing" (North Atlantic Books), "Faith" (Simon and Schuster), and "Dumped" (She Writes). Her second novel, Deviled Egg, is in progress.

Carrie now works as a production artist at Hallmark Cards. Her latest designs feature a collection for "The Bold and the Beautiful" TV series. Born and raised in the UK, Carrie now lives in Missouri with her husband, five sons and pets.

Carrie Kabak's website

This bio was last updated on 02/05/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Carrie Kabak discusses her first book, Cover The Butter, and shares a few highlights from her second book, Tarts and Sinners.

Where were you born, and where have you lived?

I was born in Bolton in Lancashire, in the United Kingdom. I've lived in Cefneithin and Cardiff in South Wales, Bewdley and Tenbury Wells in Worcestershire, Leominster in Herefordshire, Ludlow in Shropshire, Solihull and Sutton Coldfield in the West Midlands. And I spent some time in Southern Ireland and France. I now live in Kansas City, Missouri and I'm here to stay! I use the places and homes I've lived in as "backdrops" for my writing.

When someone reads one of your books for the first time, what do you hope they gain, feel or experience?

I want emotions stirred. I want the reader to LAUGH (very important,) cry, feel anger, be sympathetic. I want the protagonist to become the reader's friend. And I want to make sure my writing appeals to all five senses when I create settings. For me, writing makes all life's experiences: success, betrayal, obsession, loss and love have a real purpose.

Your story-telling ability is very reminiscent of Maeve Binchy, who's a master of crafting simple but heartfelt tales with a moral message. What do you think is the moral message behind Cover The Butter? Did your own religious ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Carrie Kabak at BookBrowse
Cover The Butter jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Carrie Kabak but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Maeve Binchy

    Maeve Binchy

    Maeve Binchy was born in a small village outside Dublin. She spent her childhood in Dalkey, an experience she draws on today when creating the rural villages usually at the heart of her novels. After receiving her B... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Cover The Butter

    Try:
    Tara Road
    by Maeve Binchy

  • Elizabeth Buchan

    Elizabeth Buchan

    Elizabeth spent her childhood moving home every three years - including living for brief periods in Egypt and Nigeria before moving to Guildford, York and Edinburgh.

    After graduating from the University of Kent at ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Cover The Butter

    Try:
    Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman
    by Elizabeth Buchan

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bitch
    Bitch
    by Lucy Cooke
    In middle school biology class, many of us were told that men hunt and women nest, that testosterone...
  • Book Jacket: Jackie & Me
    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard
    Louis Bayard's Jackie & Me offers a fictionalized version of the early relationship between John F. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Facemaker
    The Facemaker
    by Lindsey Fitzharris
    The summer of 1914 saw the beginning of World War I, the bloody conflict known as the 'war to end ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Read Now
    How to Read Now
    by Elaine Castillo
    Toni Morrison once wrote, 'My project rises from delight, not disappointment.' This remark appeared ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer

    A psychic on the verge of stardom and a cynical journalist are brought together by secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

  • Book Jacket

    Dirt Creek
    by Hayley Scrivenor

    "A heart-wrenching mystery, Scrivenor's remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Creek to life. A stellar debut."
    —Jane Harper,

Who Said...

If there is anything more dangerous to the life of the mind than having no independent commitment to ideas...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.