John Griesemer biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

John Griesemer

John Griesemer

John Griesemer Biography

John Griesemer was born in 1947 and raised in Westfield, New Jersey. He graduated from Dickinson College, and from 1970-72 served as an infantry rifleman and journalist in the U.S. Army.  In the years following, he worked as a freelance journalist, a mental hospital orderly, and a deckhand on a salmon fishing boat. In 1973, he landed a job as a reporter at a daily newspaper in Western New Hampshire. While in New Hampshire, he wrote a story on a local theatre company, auditioned for the role of the telegraph boy in their production of Thornton Wilder's The Skin of Our Teeth, and went on to become a full-time actor.

In New York, he appeared on Broadway with Spalding Gray and George C. Scott, off-Broadway in plays by Sam Shepard and Shakespeare, in such motion pictures as Malcolm X, Eight Men Out, Days of Thunder, and The Crucible, and on television in Law & Order.

While acting, Griesemer began writing and publishing fiction in literary journals such as Glimmer Train, The Gettysburg Review, Three Penny Review, and Boulevard.  In 2000, he published his debut novel, No One Thinks of Greenland, a book Esquire magazine called "that rarest of first-novel achievements: an across-the-board success." His second novel, Signal and Noise, was published in 2004. For the last 14 years, Griesemer has lived in Lyme, New Hampshire, with his wife and two children.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/05/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John Griesemer at BookBrowse
Signal and Noise jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John Griesemer but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Stephen Ambrose

    Stephen Ambrose

    Stephen Ambrose was born in 1936 and grew up in Whitewater, Wisconsin.  He became a history professor known for his liberal views (for example he left a teaching job at Kansas State University in order to protest over ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Signal and Noise

    Try:
    Nothing Like It In The World
    by Stephen Ambrose

  • Clare Clark

    Clare Clark

    Clare read History at Trinity College, Cambridge, where she was a Senior Scholar. She graduated with a Double First.

    She then spent eleven years in advertising, first at Saatchi & Saatchi and then, as a board director... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Signal and Noise

    Try:
    The Great Stink
    by Clare Clark

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.