Diana Gabaldon biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon Biography

Diana Gabaldon is the author of the award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling Outlander novels.

The series is published in 26 countries and 23 languages, and includes a nonfiction companion volume, The Outlandish Companion, which provides details on the settings, background, characters, research, and writing of the novels. Gabaldon has also written several books in a sub-series featuring Lord John Grey (a major minor character from the main series): Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, and Lord John and the Scottish Prisoner.

Returning to her comic-book roots, she has also written a graphic novel titled The Exile. The graphic novel is illustrated by Hoang Nguyen, and published by Del-Rey.

Gabaldon is presently working on the eighth book in the Outlander series, Written in My Own Heart's Blood, which has a release date of March 25, 2014 in the U.S.A. and a second volume of The Outlandish Companion. In addition, she is working on a contemporary mystery series, set in Phoenix and has written Highly Scholarly Introductions to recent Modern Library editions of Sir Walter Scott's Ivanhoe and Thomas Paine's Common Sense.

Dr. Gabaldon holds three degrees in science: Zoology, Marine Biology, and Quantitative Behavioral Ecology, (plus an honorary degree as Doctor of Humane Letters, which entitles her to be "Diana Gabaldon, Ph.D., D.H.L.) and spent a dozen years as a university professor with an expertise in scientific computation before beginning to write fiction. She has written scientific articles and textbooks, worked as a contributing editor on the MacMillan Encyclopedia of Computers, founded the scientific-computation journal Science Software Quarterly, and has written numerous comic-book scripts for Walt Disney.

She and her husband, Douglas Watkins, have three adult children and live mostly in Scottsdale, Arizona.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 01/16/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Matthew Peterson interviews Diana Gabaldon

This is a transcription from TheAuthorHour radio show. For additional questions not asked during the live show, visit TheAuthorHour

Matthew: My first guest today is Diana Gabaldon, international bestselling author of the widely popular Outlander series, which are filled with history and time travel. Her first book received the Rita Award for Best Novel from the Romance Writers of America and was also nominated for a Nebula Award from the Science Fiction Writers of America. The Outlander saga has sold over 15 million books and is enjoyed worldwide. Diana and I both live in Arizona, so we bump into each other from time to time. Not only are her books phenomenal, but she's a pretty cool person herself. I'm so happy to have you on the show today, Diana.

Diana: Well, thanks Matthew, I appreciate it.

Matthew: Well, real quick, let's go back in time for a moment, no pun intended, and let's talk about the first Outlander book.... A couple years ago you told me why you introduced time travel to your books, and I thought that would be a good way to introduce this.

Diana: Sure. Well, to begin with, it was a straightforward historical novel. I was intending ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Diana Gabaldon at BookBrowse
An Echo in the Bone jacket Lord John and the Hand of Devils jacket Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade jacket A Breath of Snow and Ashes jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Diana Gabaldon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Under the Udala Trees
by Chinelo Okparanta

Raw, emotionally intelligent and unflinchingly honest--a triumph.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.